Hammerhead and Skyray question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-13, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CattleBruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 491
Reputation: 10
Default Hammerhead and Skyray question

With the new codex, multrackers for vehicles are, as i'm sure you all know, gone. This means that our hammerheads and skyrays are going to be shooting as if they were normal vehicles. so, here's my question: How do you use them? Do you move them and just accept that you're only going to be firing 1 weapon at full BS or Do you not move them, firing all weapons at full BS but not get a jink save? I'm thinking mainly about the Skyray (cause it's not the end of the world if the hammerhead's SMS fire snapshots). If i want to shoot both markerlights at full BS i need to not move, but then i don't get my jink save...

We do not fear the flame,though it burns us,
We do not fear the fire, though it consumes us,
And we do not fear it's light,
Though it reveals the darkness of our souls,
For therein lies our power
CattleBruiser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-13, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CattleBruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 491
Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry about the terrible formatting, for some reason when i post it takes out line breaks and smushes everything into one big wall of text.

We do not fear the flame,though it burns us,
We do not fear the fire, though it consumes us,
And we do not fear it's light,
Though it reveals the darkness of our souls,
For therein lies our power
CattleBruiser is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-13, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
kiro the avenger!'s Avatar
kiro the avenger!'s Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Where you least expect it
Posts: 1,509
Reputation: 3
Default

I wouldnt know about skyways much, but I would move it personally, one marker light isn't re end of the world either, and it should really be supported by pathfinders
But it really depends on the enemy, if they have a really big nasty anti-tank gun pointing at you, I would get out of the way, but if theirs a grot hiding behind his big gun, mearly scratching your paint, I would probaly stay put
And hammerheads- again, it depends but I would move alot with them, but it REALLY sucks that multi trackers have gone, they could at least have made it simply allow us shoot two guns at full BS or something, like PotMS for sm's

........
Through temptation and horror
I have held to my faith
As a drowning man grasps at a rock
Judge me not by my weakness
Remember not my sins of late
kiro the avenger! is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-13-13, 09:59 PM
U Mad Bro?
 
Chaosftw's Avatar
Chaosftw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,777
Reputation: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CattleBruiser View Post
With the new codex, multrackers for vehicles are, as i'm sure you all know, gone. This means that our hammerheads and skyrays are going to be shooting as if they were normal vehicles. so, here's my question: How do you use them? Do you move them and just accept that you're only going to be firing 1 weapon at full BS or Do you not move them, firing all weapons at full BS but not get a jink save? I'm thinking mainly about the Skyray (cause it's not the end of the world if the hammerhead's SMS fire snapshots). If i want to shoot both markerlights at full BS i need to not move, but then i don't get my jink save...
Tough question simply because its situational and depends on where you deploy/ where the shots are coming from.

Putting Disruption pods imho is still viable first and foremost because a 6+ is better then no save at all.

Then if there was a lot of heavy fire coming at me I would try to keep moving and just firing the one weapon at full BS unless I could somehow position myself in a way to get a 5 or even a 4+ cover and not have to move then I obviously wouldn't
Chaosftw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome