Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Naming space marines

6K views 24 replies 8 participants last post by  Tawa 
#1 ·
I want to name my flesh tearers but don't know how to go about it- I'm not very good with coming up with the kinds of names used in 40k
So any help and suggestions welcome
And am I right in saying there was a space marine name generator somewhere around here?

#2 ·
I went with a theme.

I found that it makes naming marines a touch easier as you can use 'real' names if you like. For instance, I actually used an online baby name generator that had a "Native American" section.

Not quite sure if I put my thought across properly, as I'm pretty wiped at the minute.... :lazy2:

#3 ·
Well, I guess what I would do would be to look at some of the names of the special characters of the blood angels chapter.

Once you have found a few names that you like, go to a baby name website, and search for some of the variants of those names, or names similar to them.

Hope you find what you need :)

#5 ·
#7 ·
I chose Greco-Roman names for my Blood Templars, BA successor. You get some cool, yet familiar names, though I did "borrow" Koris from Dues Encarmine for one of my Death Company. Prior to getting the name Koris, he was respectfully referred to as "Pops."

One problem with historic names is that they tend to have duel meanings. I named my chapter master, Maximilian Ares before realizing I was calling him "Maximum War." Quite the fitting name for him though.

#9 ·
Using the baby name generator I have...

Twins, honourable Zachary and honourable Zakariya (furioso dreds)
Librarian ishary
Sergeants Ezra and silas
Sanguinary priest Aran

I like them and the baby namer works great :)

#10 ·
#16 ·
Cool idea. Glad they did not face the same outcome as Arkio and Rafen. Do you plan to still have them fighting side-by-side? A terrifying prospect and if one were "injured" the other's rage would be awe inspiring.