Battle Brothers Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 03:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default Battle Brothers Question

I've been reading the FAQs and it seems that a lot of abilities that would be interesting to use with allies are all getting the "can only be used on units from codex: whatever" and not on their allies.

For example, Page 49 – Fateweaver, Oracle of Eternity. Change the first sentence to read “Because of the incredible prescience of the Oracle of Tzeentch, Fateweaver and all friendly units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons within 6" reroll all failed Armour, Invulnerable and Cover saves.”- from the Chaos Daemons FAQ.

My question is, are there any abilities, powers, etc. that can be used on Battle Brother allies or are they all FAQ'd otherwise? I'd prefer CSM/Daemons but am also interested in other ally possiblities as well.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 04:14 AM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

This is one thing that disappoints me with the allies...All the nice, beneficial rules such as this one are errata'd so that they only work with the one codex.
The Sturk is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

There are a couple abilities left that still benefit Battle Brother Allies. They are mostly from the new Psychic Powers in the main rulebook. But they seem to be systematically removing all the things that being a battle brother would imply. Eldar Psykers can't buff Dark Eldar anymore, for example. I guess they didn't play test Allies too well and are realizing just how useful some of the stuff is.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ThoseKrazyKasrkin's Avatar
ThoseKrazyKasrkin's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ryza
Posts: 654
Reputation: 2
Default

Well all units still benifit from increased leadership for battle brother ics

'Luck is the residue of design.' - John Milton

'Let the world tremble as it senses all you are about to accomplish.' - Luís de Camões
ThoseKrazyKasrkin is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Antonius's Avatar
Antonius's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cadian Battle Cruiser "Divine Wrath"
Posts: 359
Reputation: 1
Default

ATSKNF from SM ICs is transferrable to IG blobs. OUCHIES!. Not sure how the mixed unit would work in receiving some orders though (rank fire is fine - SM ICs can't have a lasgun, but BID,FOMT,MMM and Incoming might be of use to the SM IC also), because they can only be used on IG units, but do you use the highest Ld or the Imperial Guard Units Ld???

General Antonius, Task force Iron Storm cmdr, Cadian 9th Mechanised Infantry Rgt.


WHAT, I CAN'T HAVE MORE THAN SIX MANTICORES!


I'm facing NECRONS
Antonius is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
pantat's Avatar
pantat's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 408
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonius View Post
ATSKNF from SM ICs is transferrable to IG blobs. OUCHIES!. Not sure how the mixed unit would work in receiving some orders though (rank fire is fine - SM ICs can't have a lasgun, but BID,FOMT,MMM and Incoming might be of use to the SM IC also), because they can only be used on IG units, but do you use the highest Ld or the Imperial Guard Units Ld???
Pretty sure I read in the Imperial Guard FAQ somewhere that you have to use the Guardsmen LD for orders, but I can't confirm/quote because at work and they seem to have finally blocked the GW site! I think I remember reading something like that anyway.

6th edition:

Blood Angels 12/1/3
Blood Angels/Necrons 0/0/1
Necrons 4/0/0
pantat is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Sethis's Avatar
Sethis's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alston, Cumbria
Posts: 4,190
Reputation: 58
Default

Non-Guard ICs attached to Guard squads do not benefit from Orders.

90% of people think they are above average.

Statistically Improbable. Psychologically Inevitable.
Sethis is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Blackwire's Avatar
Blackwire's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: In the deep end of the galaxy.
Posts: 175
Reputation: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pantat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonius View Post
ATSKNF from SM ICs is transferrable to IG blobs. OUCHIES!. Not sure how the mixed unit would work in receiving some orders though (rank fire is fine - SM ICs can't have a lasgun, but BID,FOMT,MMM and Incoming might be of use to the SM IC also), because they can only be used on IG units, but do you use the highest Ld or the Imperial Guard Units Ld???
Pretty sure I read in the Imperial Guard FAQ somewhere that you have to use the Guardsmen LD for orders, but I can't confirm/quote because at work and they seem to have finally blocked the GW site! I think I remember reading something like that anyway.
"Q: Can an Imperial Guard unit use the Leadership of an allied
Independent Character that has joined their squad for the purposes of
receiving an order? (p29)
A: No."

"Q: Can an allied Independent Character benefit from Imperial Guard
Orders if they have joined an Imperial Guard Squad that successfully
receives an order? (p29)
A: No."

I guess that's rounded up.

Last edited by Blackwire; 09-11-12 at 10:10 AM.
Blackwire is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
pantat's Avatar
pantat's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 408
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwire View Post
"Q: Can an Imperial Guard unit use the Leadership of an allied
Independent Character that has joined their squad for the purposes of
receiving an order? (p29)
A: No."

"Q: Can an allied Independent Character benefit from Imperial Guard
Orders if they have joined an Imperial Guard Squad that successfully
receives an order? (p29)
A: No."

I guess that's rounded up.
Cheers, knew i'd read that

6th edition:

Blood Angels 12/1/3
Blood Angels/Necrons 0/0/1
Necrons 4/0/0
pantat is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-11-12, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Captain Stillios's Avatar
Captain Stillios's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 948
Reputation: 1
Default

Cant open the FAQ's on my laptop so could some one tell me if Epidemus has been FAQed to only affect Chaos Daemons or does he still affect allies?

Stillios

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella Cadente View Post
chill out?...CHILL OUT!!!!!!!, THIS IS WARHAMMER, THERE IS NO TIME FOR "CHILLING OUT", WHAT DO YOU THINK THIS IS?, SOME KIND OF GAME?, THIS ARE SERIOUS BUSINESS!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by xNoPityx View Post
The downside to a medium that allows the unlimited exchange of ideas, some people have some really stupid ideas.
Captain Stillios is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome