Space marines allies question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
General 40k This is the place to talk about everything related to Warhammer 40k.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stalarious's Avatar
stalarious's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gindorf
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Default Space marines allies question

Ok so I now from the allies list it states that all space marines are battle brothers, Now if you take the salamanders special HQ choice for your allies and say your main army is BA does your whole army get the free dual flamers and the like?

Does special rules carry on to the whole army or just the Allies that it would normally aply to I could figure it out when I read the section.



So I am growing my enemy.....so what I gotta kill something.

CENTER][/CENTER]
stalarious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 08:25 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

You're friendly units from all aspects so I'd say yes.
Only thing you can't do is get into a transport it seems
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

They faq'd this to say all friendly units from Codex:space marines.

Blood angels won't get the Vulkan re-rolls I'm afraid.

It'd be best to check individual FAQ's for special rule interactions.

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/co...e=true&start=2

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Fur is for the weak!
Gret79 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stalarious's Avatar
stalarious's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gindorf
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Default

Dude seriously! thats crazy if your a GK and take salamanders you got psychic ammo with free twin linked plasma and flamers wow cool! crazy but cool




EDIT: I got ninja'd! wait a second though doesnt the allies rules state that you get certain benifits from each other?



So I am growing my enemy.....so what I gotta kill something.

CENTER][/CENTER]
stalarious is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Yes the allies rule does work for some armies - Battle brothers on the allies matrix will be able to share rules.

In the Codex:Space Marine FAQ's it mentions a lot of the characters rules only affect Codex:Space marines. And I don't think you can ally with yourself (seen it on here somewhere, never needed to look it up cos I've never tried it) so that stops a lot of special rule shenanigans

But it's best to check the FAQ's individually

Pre-ninja'd...

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Fur is for the weak!

Last edited by Gret79; 08-09-12 at 09:13 AM.
Gret79 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 09:10 AM
I am Alpharius.
 
Doelago's Avatar
Doelago's Flag is: Finland
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,375
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalarious View Post
Does special rules carry on to the whole army or just the Allies that it would normally aply to I could figure it out when I read the section.
Check the individual FAQ`s, the changed the wording for a lot of special rules to be something along the lines of "units chosen from Codex: Space Marines" or "units from Codex: Imperial Guard".

So no Vulkan melta-flamer combos.

[Flerden] 9:05 pm: Why the hell can't he just go offline if he goes to watc tv?
[dark angel] 9:06 pm: It is Doelago, we will never know
Doelago is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stalarious's Avatar
stalarious's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gindorf
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Default

OK guess you can have to many fun combos avaiable. I will have to check the FAQ/ allies rules again and see what I come up with cause most rules are meant for a specific army but with allies especially battle brothers I feel like there is now a gray line of maybe's



So I am growing my enemy.....so what I gotta kill something.

CENTER][/CENTER]
stalarious is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 11:30 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalarious View Post
OK guess you can have to many fun combos avaiable. I will have to check the FAQ/ allies rules again and see what I come up with cause most rules are meant for a specific army but with allies especially battle brothers I feel like there is now a gray line of maybe's
DOH ! Yes I forgot that GW has been nice by saying that all abilities translate and then taken that all away by FAQ'ing every special buff to only work with Codex units.

GK's don't get squat. No Bro's at all.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 02:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stalarious's Avatar
stalarious's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gindorf
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Default

I dont usually read FAQ's so what I read is what the books say? So my questions are based off that(I cant ever seem to find the FAQ'S)



So I am growing my enemy.....so what I gotta kill something.

CENTER][/CENTER]
stalarious is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-09-12, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gret79 View Post
They faq'd this to say all friendly units from Codex:space marines.

Blood angels won't get the Vulkan re-rolls I'm afraid.

It'd be best to check individual FAQ's for special rule interactions.

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/co...e=true&start=2

Here's the link again

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Fur is for the weak!
Gret79 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > General 40k

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome