Beginners Eldar Army Points/Composition aid needed - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-13-12, 12:28 AM Thread Starter

Default Beginners Eldar Army Points/Composition aid needed

Hi, I am a relative beginner with Eldar and have a few of most unit types available but overall I'm relatively limited.

I need some assistance in that recently I have been playing vs. my friend who plays Tau, we played a few 500 point game with 2 troops and a HQ minimum and I have relied mainly on an Aurtarch, 5 man Pathfinder squad, small 3 man jetbike squad and either warps spiders or swooping hawk squad of roughly 5 men - totalling 500 points (either swooping or spider not both).
I usually connected the Aurtarch to my pathfinder (or kept him close by) with a reaper launcher for ranged damage or attached to my fast attackers, mainly warp spiders to make them more deadly.

I spent a couple of games just sniping him and trying to pick off vulnerable lonely units with my mobile units avoiding close quarters combat in lieu of a hit and run tactics as he ran his Tau army of Kroots and a few fire-warriors in a big deathball not allowing me to deep strike any stragglers. And another game I did much the same, this time deciding to try the swooping hawk grenade pack ability to take advantage of his mass of small weak units I could decimate with the pack.