Flamer To Melta Conversion - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-03-08, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Executive Nitpicker

Galahad's Flag is: USA

Default Flamer To Melta Conversion

Bear with me, this is my first attempt at a tutorial, so I figured I would start simple.

Edit: I've since made other guides
Markerlights made Easy
Urban Bases With Just a Broken Knife

If you're a Marine player, you've probably got about fifty bloody flamethrowers laying around and not nearly enough meltaguns. As a Blood Angels player, I found myself in dire need of some meltaguns to go on my veteran assault squads and into mounted combat squads...and I needed to get rid of the flamers in my assault squads.

This is what I came up with. Theoretically, all you need is a knife, glue and flamer, though a hobby saw is very strongly recommended.

Tools:
Glue - Required (I like plastic cement, but use whatever)
Sharp Hobby Knife - Required
Razor Saw - Highly Recommended (I used it more than the knife, but theoretically steady hands and a sharp knife will get you by)
Flat File - Optional
Pin & Drill - Very Optional (I didn't use one, but recommended if you use super glue)

Materials:
Space Marine Flamer
Guitar Wire/Green Stuff/Other Detail Bits - Very optional.

Just for reference...here's a flamer and a meltagun...believe it or not, they will come out looking pretty similar.

Stage 1: Disassembly

Step 1:
Using your hobby knife, carefully cut the prometheum tank out of the bottom of the flamer. I say 'out of' instead of 'off of' because we want to preserve the round bit that plugs into the gun.

Step 2: