The Khorne Lord of Skulls. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-15, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
whittsy's Avatar
whittsy's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 432
Reputation: 12
Default The Khorne Lord of Skulls.

I recently bought a KLoS and got me wondering, how do you use it effectively?

It comes in at a hefty price with his base weapons, which are good, but only AP3. Is it worth spending the points for the upgraded weapons or does it work fine with the base loadout?

I ask because I played against SM yesterday with my new daemonkin and fielded a LoS for the first time, and he did a few wounds with his gatling gun to a flyer and a knight, then charged the knight. He then suffered 19 HPs and died before striking.... Did i miss something when I charged him? When a LoS charges does it tankshock/ram first then attack or do you have to declare a tankshock then hope to get in combat the next turn? etc etc...

Any help would be appreciated.

The true nature of Chaos is beyond any comprehension. No mere mortal can ever hope to understand these matters, and the wise do not puzzle too deeply over Chaos Gods, or try to fathom their wars, rivalries and bickerings.


Deathguard PLOG: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129438
whittsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-15, 01:34 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,990
Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whittsy View Post
then charged the knight. He then suffered 19 HPs and died before striking.... Did i miss something when I charged him? When a LoS charges does it tankshock/ram first then attack or do you have to declare a tankshock then hope to get in combat the next turn? etc etc...
It appears as though you may have, or the picture your painting is missing a few details.

For starters, I believe tank shocking/ramming is done during the movement phase. However I would not recommend ramming a knight, since you would likely be ramming its front armour (which while not the biggest issue since your ram would be a strength 9 hit, so would the blow coming back at you.)

So overall, I believe you'd have to hope to be in combat next turn.


As for when you charged the knight, first how on earth did you receive 19 hull points worth of damage!? What kind of knight was it? The knight warden aside, a knight would only be hitting you with three attacks and unless all of them hit and then he rolled 6's for the damage table you should have survived to attack back.

If your opponent had some good rolls, thats one thing, otherwise you should have been able to get hits in, and would have stood a good chance of bringing the knight down.


And keep in mind that against the knight, if your opponent didn't roll 6's on the damage table you get your daemon invulnerable save against the hits. (Note thats against the hits, not the hull points lost. If two attacks hit and each caused d3 hull points of damage you would only get two saves, not 2d3.)

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
whittsy's Avatar
whittsy's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 432
Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkreever View Post
As for when you charged the knight, first how on earth did you receive 19 hull points worth of damage!? What kind of knight was it? The knight warden aside, a knight would only be hitting you with three attacks and unless all of them hit and then he rolled 6's for the damage table you should have survived to attack back.

If your opponent had some good rolls, thats one thing, otherwise you should have been able to get hits in, and would have stood a good chance of bringing the knight down.


And keep in mind that against the knight, if your opponent didn't roll 6's on the damage table you get your daemon invulnerable save against the hits. (Note thats against the hits, not the hull points lost. If two attacks hit and each caused d3 hull points of damage you would only get two saves, not 2d3.)
Exactly what I thought, but yes, he seemed to roll all 6's all the time. At least i know the Lord of Skulls isn't a dud.

Also, so if I charge a unit or vehicle with the KLoS, it doesnt ram or thunderblitz, it does that in the movement phase, like a regular vehicle?

The true nature of Chaos is beyond any comprehension. No mere mortal can ever hope to understand these matters, and the wise do not puzzle too deeply over Chaos Gods, or try to fathom their wars, rivalries and bickerings.


Deathguard PLOG: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129438
whittsy is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 01:28 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkreever View Post
As for when you charged the knight, first how on earth did you receive 19 hull points worth of damage!? What kind of knight was it? The knight warden aside, a knight would only be hitting you with three attacks and unless all of them hit and then he rolled 6's for the damage table you should have survived to attack back.
Actually, you only need one '6' on the Destroyer table followed by a 4 or 5, then a pair of 2-5 results on the D chart, to do 19HP. It's still pretty lucky, since hitting with all 3 attacks and then rolling solidly on the D3/D6s for Destroyer damage, but it's far less left-field than I thought when I first read it. I keep forgetting just how insane massed Str D is against Super-Heavy targets; I once saw a Lord of Skulls on 1HP charge a Warhound Titan and deal I think 35HP on the charge.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > Tactica Articles > Chaos Tactics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome