Khorne Daemonkin Tactics & Discussion - Page 21 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #201 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-18-15, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

I think a rule not doing what it is supposed/intended to do and a rule not doing anything at all are two different things, lol.
GuiltySparc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #202 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-18-15, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

I see how it could lead to some rules-lawyery arguments, but charging on the turn they disembark seems pretty explicit to me. They can disembark the turn they arrive, thus they can charge the turn the arrive. It doesn't really need anything beyond that. They should have been more explicit to prevent arguments like this, but really, this is a game and not legal code. Pretty sure most reasonable players can agree on what the rule means.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #203 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-18-15, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

despite the points and dollars cost, it does seem like a pretty fun formation to try out...20 zerkers charging you on turn 1 is pretty gnarly. Gorepack/juggerlord catches up on turn 2, lots of choppy goodness.
GuiltySparc is offline  
 
post #204 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-18-15, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

It is however a shame that Khornes Fist unit cant be lowered to 19 Berserkers if you added a character in there like a Lord of Khorne or something. Though I think in friendly circles this would probably be allowed as a house rule because it makes sense.
mayegelt is offline  
post #205 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-18-15, 10:54 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
They are already an Assault Vehicle
I did specifically dig up my copy of IA XIII and look for that in the unit entry, but didn't see it. Still, I'm inclined to believe you...

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #206 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-19-15, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
I did specifically dig up my copy of IA XIII and look for that in the unit entry, but didn't see it. Still, I'm inclined to believe you...
Not sure how you can miss it... it is the first special rule. Right above drop pod assault on the list. About 2cm below the armour values.

One thing i did wonder as it is an infernal relic, would it take up your allowance, or would it as an individual self contained formation you could still have a fire raptor or whatever.

Last edited by mayegelt; 05-19-15 at 10:18 AM.
mayegelt is offline  
post #207 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-19-15, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
One thing i did wonder as it is an infernal relic, would it take up your allowance, or would it as an individual self contained formation you could still have a fire raptor or whatever.
Nope, if i recall, infernal relic applyes to the whole army. SO to take more you still need a sorceror or warpsmith. If i'm not wrong of course

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #208 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-19-15, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Nope, if i recall, infernal relic applyes to the whole army. SO to take more you still need a sorceror or warpsmith. If i'm not wrong of course
The trouble being is that Daemonkin don't get Sorcerers or Warpsmiths in the codex and these are a Khorne Daemonkin unit... Also in most cases Formations are treated as their own Detachment for the purpose of Force Organisation (unless it is Blood Host, Decurion or that Eldar version).
mayegelt is offline  
post #209 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-19-15, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Meh, just make the list unbound and call it a day.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #210 of 226 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default





One of my new rapiers. Needs finishing but you get the idea.
The other thing this has meant is that I have the spare upper bodies of those servitors. This might change my brass scorpion plans I put elsewhere on the forums. I am thinking that I might make it like a slave galley. With a servitors but don't stick any arms or guns on them, instead either make or just buy some cable to "plug" them in to the machine in various places. At the back have 1 to control the tail and maybe 2 legs. Another 2 (controlling the remaining 4 legs) or 3 (if I have 8 legs) maybe 4 (if I give them 2 legs or leg and claw each) in the middle. And maybe 1 at front for the claws and gun.

Idea being something like



but a lot better.

Probably go for 4 of them on there, 1 controls tail and 2 back legs, 2 in the middle controlling 3 legs on there side each. The last guy at the front would have claws and cannon...
Unless I buy another pack of those servitors then I could have the holy number of 8 of them... but I think that might be a bit of a squeeze.

Last edited by mayegelt; 05-23-15 at 02:59 PM.
mayegelt is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > Tactica Articles > Chaos Tactics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome