1500 double land raider - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-08-12, 08:01 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

I don't think you can infiltrate with the Land Raiders since they aren't listed as a Designated Transport on the CSM entry of the codex, so you have to choose between deploying them in the can't-infiltrate Land Raider entry, or infiltrating them on their own/in a Designated Transport (read: a Rhino).

I could be blowing smoke out my arse here, though, so it'd be best to check up on this in the rules yourself.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!

Last edited by Mossy Toes; 11-09-12 at 06:37 AM.
Mossy Toes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Khorothis's Avatar
Khorothis's Flag is: Hungary
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond the Glass Mountains
Posts: 2,420
Reputation: 2
Default

Nope, Master of Deception is pretty strict on this: D3 units of Infantry only.

The only loophole in there is that the unit itself must be Infantry, but if I add, say, a Jugger Lord, then the unit itself is still Infantry, except there's this guy with a big red machine bull. It's not much but it's there.

The fool, the coward, and the ignorant proclaim that the warp is a realm of unknowable peril and indescribable terror, that it is the hell of countless ancient myths and legends. This is a lie, told by those whose authority is based on lies, to keep the masses terrified of the unknown. The warp is limitless power and its secrets are infinite; it is knowledge and strength, life and death, and the untapped potential to make and remake worlds. It takes only the discipline and the will to shape it; those who lack that clarity of purpose are liable to be shaped by it instead.

- Ahzek Ahriman of the Thousand Sons
Khorothis is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 07:32 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khorothis View Post
Nope, Master of Deception is pretty strict on this: D3 units of Infantry only.

The only loophole in there is that the unit itself must be Infantry, but if I add, say, a Jugger Lord, then the unit itself is still Infantry, except there's this guy with a big red machine bull. It's not much but it's there.
'cept that his unit type becomes Cavalry when he gets the Juggernaut.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Khorothis's Avatar
Khorothis's Flag is: Hungary
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond the Glass Mountains
Posts: 2,420
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
'cept that his unit type becomes Cavalry when he gets the Juggernaut.
You're missing the point: the unit he joins is still Infantry, not Cavalry. Hence the loophole.

The fool, the coward, and the ignorant proclaim that the warp is a realm of unknowable peril and indescribable terror, that it is the hell of countless ancient myths and legends. This is a lie, told by those whose authority is based on lies, to keep the masses terrified of the unknown. The warp is limitless power and its secrets are infinite; it is knowledge and strength, life and death, and the untapped potential to make and remake worlds. It takes only the discipline and the will to shape it; those who lack that clarity of purpose are liable to be shaped by it instead.

- Ahzek Ahriman of the Thousand Sons
Khorothis is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 12:43 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Joining a unit doesn't change the IC's unit type so the unit that is Infantry might get the buff but not the IC.
The IC is considered part of the unit but not in all respects.

Either way I don't think it would even be possible :
Master of Deception takes place before deployment.
IC's join units during deployment either to the table or reserve.

So the IC isn't joined to the unit at the time the Infiltrate SR is conferred upon them.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 11-09-12 at 12:53 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
mynameisgrax's Avatar
mynameisgrax's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Freehold, NJ
Posts: 1,175
Reputation: 4
Default

I like Khorothis's first version of the list, with the cultists. You really need at least 1-2 cheap objective grabbing units when playing 6th edition. At 1500 points I wouldn't use less than 3 troop choices, and 4 is definitely better.

Only other thing I can add is it might be nice to give the cultists a flamer. It really helps against hordes.

The first casualty of war is neither innocence nor truth.

The first casualty of war is always subtlety.

mynameisgrax is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Joining a unit doesn't change the IC's unit type so the unit that is Infantry might get the buff but not the IC.
The IC is considered part of the unit but not in all respects.

Either way I don't think it would even be possible :
Master of Deception takes place before deployment.
IC's join units during deployment either to the table or reserve.

So the IC isn't joined to the unit at the time the Infiltrate SR is conferred upon them.
"Infiltrate" says that units that contain at least one model
with this special rule are deployed last,
after all other units (friend and foe)
have been deployed. And, most important an Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit
of Infiltrators during deployment

But nobody says "no" to an Infiltrating independent character joining a unit, hence granting the whole unit infiltrate...as long as he is infantry as you, magpie, said.

About "outflank" the thing is this: during deployment, you can
declare that any unit that contains at least one model with this special
rule is ouflanking.

So, after a good check on the rulebook, i must say that my csm in raiders cannot infiltrate.

@mynameisgrax: thanks for the input. in fact I might drop a terminator for a 10 man cultist squad...i'll do the math and modify the list
neferhet is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

in the end i guess this is the "safest" solution for this kind of "all in" list.
I've dropped the reaper autocannon since it's going to shoot only once or twice in a game and costs half of the cultist squad...
I hope the cultist can be useful for surprising a "landraider-worried" opponent.
Fluffwise the khornate berzerkers are a punch in the eye, but i will manage this with my own fluff.
Now...I only need to assemble that damned landraider on my shelve

Huron

10 Chaos Marines
slaanesh
power weapon -champion -
icon of excess
ccw instead of bolters


10 Chaos Marines
khorne
power weapon -champion -
icon of wrath
ccw instead of bolters

Land Raider
dirge caster

Land Raider
dirge caster

9 Terminator
slaanesh
icon of excess
2 lightning claw
1 chainfist
4 combi plasma
4 combimelta

12 cultists
champion with shotgun

cheers!

edit: sorry for the double post, wasn't thinking about it...
neferhet is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-09-12, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Khorothis's Avatar
Khorothis's Flag is: Hungary
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond the Glass Mountains
Posts: 2,420
Reputation: 2
Default

Wut da zog. Why have a squad of Khornates if the rest of the merry band is Slaaneshi? I'm sure you can milk the points for that (somehow, I'm too lazy right now to check). Khorne isn't too useful, especially when you have such a low unit count (2 Raiders, a Termie squad and a band of Cultists), making survivability much more important than the situational bonuses granted by Khorne. Other than that it's as good as it'll ever be in theory. I'm curious how this plays out in practice.

The fool, the coward, and the ignorant proclaim that the warp is a realm of unknowable peril and indescribable terror, that it is the hell of countless ancient myths and legends. This is a lie, told by those whose authority is based on lies, to keep the masses terrified of the unknown. The warp is limitless power and its secrets are infinite; it is knowledge and strength, life and death, and the untapped potential to make and remake worlds. It takes only the discipline and the will to shape it; those who lack that clarity of purpose are liable to be shaped by it instead.

- Ahzek Ahriman of the Thousand Sons
Khorothis is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Army Lists > Chaos Marines Army Lists

Tags
improving list , land raider

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome