Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums - View Single Post - Heresy Online's Expeditious Storied 5: Hatred
View Single Post
post #13 of (permalink) Old 05-19-11, 07:39 PM
andygorn

Hi all, great stories so far and I'm sure there are more to come.
Tales of Dark Eldar usually enter my head but, this time, a story of a different flavour. Public and private comments criticisms and advice always gratefully received, but this is my first time at a WFB story, so please be gentle (lol).
The hate in this story is more of a 'personal hatred' than something which is ideological or army-spanning (and I imagine that the 'devastation' in the title refers not only to the wrecked city, but also of personal morals and casting aside a former life), so I don't know if people will go for it, but just got to write what comes into my brain.
Anywho, here's my humble offering for this month, I hope you enjoy and my thanks for reading:

"Devastation in Praag" (I think it's 1088 words).

With the screams and shouts ringing in his ears, Battle-Priest Dietmar could do nothing but watch in horror through the broken timbers of the once-proud gatehouse: the caravans that should have led the civilians to safety now proved to be their trap and their doom. It was the same fate that had taken so many others during the seige and –with the Horde closing in day by day- it was proof that there was now no hope for any of them.

Tears streaming down his face at the massacre, he shouted to his captor: “You killed all of those people! They were only farmers and peasants...innocents...they posed no threat to you!”
Chaos Champion Varelda turned to face her prisoner, her tarnished high-heeled boots scratching upon the demolished courtyard’s broken flagstones. “The knights that sallied forth last week posed no discernible threat to my warriors either, so why believe that the unarmed ones should not be treated similarly?”

“Lascivia, please come forth, we have a guest.”