I was under the impression that most ork vehicles were open-topped.
I was also under the impression that this means you take the flamer template from the hull of the vehicle, as the whole of the vehicle counts as a fire point.
But I might be thinking of a previous version of the rules or just be flat-out wrong.
Would someone with a rulebook at hand like to check this for me please?
Yep, that's correct.
And since it's not actually COVERING the vehicle, it doesn't count as touching :D
They really need to fix that mishap with the template failure.