Space Marine Bikes - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-11, 10:13 PM Thread Starter

Words_of_Truth's Flag is: United Kingdom

Default Space Marine Bikes

Now I've created my own chapter but It seems that assault troops are just not good, so I was wondering about bikes but I've never used them before since I always thought they where pretty useless so I was wondering if someone could point me towards the positives of their use?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-11, 10:42 PM
WFB Moderator

Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom

They move fast and often have a 3+ cover save... so are fairly easy to keep away from enemies that'll destroy them in combat, and will often be able to shrug off a lot of firepower.

They're T4(5), meaning that once they get into combat they're going to take much less wounds then standard marines... a sgt with a powerfist bashing a few enemies to bits should give you the win.

They can take lots of special weapons. EG- combi melta, 2 meltaguns and a multimelta... that's quite an anti-tank unit.
They can basically be tooled up to fit any role you want to do: moving 12" and then laying 3 flame templates and dakka'ing with TL boltguns will massacre hoardes, while melta spam can cut through units of tanks, not just one. I wouldn't advise using plasma, since it'll be just as easy for you to die as for a normal marine, but it is still a fun option (I like plasma... I know its not great anymore but just don't care).

They can easily be made troops... so you have a nails unit that can crush the enemy, then win the game. A captain on bike is pretty hard, especially if you then also use a command squad with a few power weapons and an apothecary... very scary.