The humble tactical squad - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-13-11, 12:09 PM Thread Starter

Default The humble tactical squad

I'm still debating the best way to set these up. The basic 5-men+plasmaback for 165pts is obviously a good arrangement. The squad always gets a ride, that is a certainty; beyond that everything has issues.

ML? With what? I think here you go ML/MG+plasmaback, split the squad leaving the ML behind with the MG in the ride.

MM? Okay in a Rhino, but all that stopping and starting takes thought to manage correctly. I think here you go MM/PG+rhino. The range lines up nicely. Ideal targets aren't too disparate. The split is decent with 5x bolters left behind and MM/PG in the ride.

PC? I've no experience of on Tax. Any good?

Some people say avoid HB. I'm not so sure. HB/flamer+rhino gives them an okay anti-horde role. The split is decent. HB stays behind and flamer goes in the ride. Or is that the other way around?

What about combi-weapons? Definitely not. Quite over-costed and far better to use those points elsewhere. Power fists then? Three of them gives you a Tornado. Probably best taken in very low numbers. Power swords? Not terrible. MB? I think you only take MB if you haven't considered how your tacticals work with the rest of your army. Demeching should not come down to needing an MB.

So possibly a PF, possibly a PW. Let's review the above
  • ML/MG+plasmaback gets PF. With the MG it seems to make sense, but then we'll sometimes need to be able to keep the squad together. So make that a rhino. @235pts
  • MM/PG+rhino gets nothing. Marines don't want to get out of their can to fight anything you need MM or PG to shoot at. @215pts
  • HB/flamer+rhino gets PW. We're pretty sure it'll come in helpful against targets we want to flame or bolter. @220pts