Should I start Tau? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-08, 03:42 AM Thread Starter

Default Should I start Tau?

Hey, im at the stage where im looking for a new 40k army to start on, was thinking about Tau and was wondering if they are competitive/fun? tactics would be nice and my most regular opponent is a nids player I'm not a total noob but havn't had much to do with tau
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-08, 12:43 PM

Blackhiker's Flag is: USA

If your primary opponent is nids then tau might not be the most effective army for you. Because nids can move fairly fast towards you and usually you won't have enough time to kill them all before they plow into your lines. Besides the nids though the tau are a vary competitive force if played right. If you do decide to go with tau I would suggest having lots of suits, this is because the tau aren't good in cc, but the suits can usually stand against the gaunts at least. Also the kroot would be worth the time since they can fight on even terms with the gaunts and might even take down a few of the bigger creatures if they are in large enough units. As for the tactics they are fairly easy, since for the fire warriors it is stand and shoot and the suits it is jump out of cover shoot and then jump back into cover.

Overall I would not suggest tau if the nid player is your only opponent unless you want a challenge to win, but if you play against other armies then tau can get pretty fun.

Of course this is only my experience with my tau vs, nid games

If a child asks how Santa lives forever, simply reply he drinks blood.

Old aunts used to come up to me at weddings, poke me in the ribs and cackle, telling me, "You're next." They stopped after I started to do the same thing to them at funerals.