Tank defence against melta marines in a drop pod from turn one - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-15-14, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
DestroyerHive's Avatar
DestroyerHive's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Your basement
Posts: 1,927
Reputation: 2
Default

When drop pods arrive, they count as having moved at Cruising Speed. That being said, models that disembark are only allowed to Snap-Fire, and thus should only be able to hit your units on a 6.

Unless this was FAQ'd, I'm pretty sure that he shouldn't be accurately hitting anything after arriving via drop pod.


If someone lacks intelligence, than he is not stupid, because one cannot be stupid without intelligence.

If someone reverts to having to complain about your grammar, then you already won.
DestroyerHive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-15-14, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DestroyerHive View Post
When drop pods arrive, they count as having moved at Cruising Speed. That being said, models that disembark are only allowed to Snap-Fire, and thus should only be able to hit your units on a 6.
Not true.

Units disembarking from transports can shoot normally, as per BRB pg. 79 'Disembarking Restrictions'. Nothing in the Deep Strike USR (pg. 36) entry contradicts that, it merely mentions that vehicles count as moving at cruising speed and they (the vehicles) may have restrictions for firing placed on them as per pg. 71. A quick jaunt to pg. 71 reveals a set of rules regarding vehicles only firing Snap Shots if moving at Cruising Speed, and still says nothing about occupants.

Unless you have something that specifically says 'units disembarking transports that arrived from deep strike that turn can only fire snap shots', I'll be firing at full Ballistic Skill.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-02-14, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
maximus2467's Avatar
maximus2467's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 325
Reputation: 3
Default

Also ref your line of sight, you can see through drop pods so although the enemy may get a cover save your los shouldn't be blocked at all
maximus2467 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Tactics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome