Avatar fire two weapons? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-13, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

So you would have to have two Primary Detachments, both with ADL/ILCs and you have to deploy the guns right next to each other in order for this to work.

At what point is there going to be a rule for where the gun emplacement is deployed in conjunction with the ADL? As it stands there's nothing about any coherency that it has to adhere to.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-13, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

No need for such a ruling, even if you had it. 2x ADL, arranged in a circle, touching each other at the ends. 1 emplacement is the rear of the 1st ADL hemisphere, the other at the front of the 2nd ADL hemisphere. Both can touch an avatar, and both would be deployed "in proximity"

Same for two lines like this
---------------------------------------
G
G
---------------------------------------
Creon is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-13, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

There's nothing that says the gun has to be deployed within any number of inches of to the ADL, only that the ADL itself has to connect. It is purchased with the ADL, but again. Nothing covering where it goes in relation.

Please, point me to the section in the BRB that covers how Gun Emplacements are deployed if you have found it. I made a thread about this a while back that basically went nowhere- the general consensus being that there wasn't enough in the BRB to support any opinion.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-13, 10:30 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creon View Post
Same target, maybe. It's two "units" firing, using the BS of 1"unit" who may fire 2 "weapons" per phase. I'd say I believe it to mean that since the firer doesn't have split fire, all his "weapons" must target the same opponent, but the fact the 2nd emplacement is not the same "unit" as the first also makes a valid argument for "no, you don't have to target the same opponent"
Gun emplacements are not separate units, in fact they aren't units at all. They are just two guns that can be used by somebody. If one guy picks up both they are weapons of the 1 unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
There's nothing that says the gun has to be deployed within any number of inches of to the ADL, only that the ADL itself has to connect. It is purchased with the ADL, but again. Nothing covering where it goes in relation.

Please, point me to the section in the BRB that covers how Gun Emplacements are deployed if you have found it. I made a thread about this a while back that basically went nowhere- the general consensus being that there wasn't enough in the BRB to support any opinion.
Yep. As it stands at the moment you can ave the ADL on ones side of the board and the gun on the other if you wish.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-26-13, 01:47 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

The Avatar may also fire the Wailing Doom and an Emplacement.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-26-13, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Orochi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,861
Reputation: 9
Default

The image of an Avatar sat behind one of the Quad-autocannons is the Warhammer equivalent of Animal on drums from the muppets.

Excellent fluff there.

"I know I'm a 15ft God of War, but guys... watch me shoot down this plane."
Orochi is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-27-13, 02:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Deathypoo's Avatar
Deathypoo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 223
Reputation: 3
Default

I mean, anything with fluff for the Avatar automatically is weird imo. I never played 40k epic, but I always pictured titans running around and jumping up and down on land raider formations and blasting away mountains with their guns... and then the incarnation of a God of War running around stabbing toes ineffectively.
Deathypoo is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-27-13, 04:26 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Poo, you would run from a rabid squirrel. Especially one made of magma!

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-27-13, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

^ not if I was an 8 foot tall Space Marine.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-28-13, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Deathypoo's Avatar
Deathypoo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 223
Reputation: 3
Default

My dreams will now be haunted by rabid magma squirrel attacks. Thanks a lot, klokk.
Deathypoo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Tactics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome