New to 40k, getting nervous... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Tactics Discuss the art of war in the 41st millenium. Exceptional topics will be stickied.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-25-13, 05:39 PM Thread Starter

Default New to 40k, getting nervous...

Hey folks,

I am new to 40K, and Orks are definitely me and my personality. With that said, my friends who are also starting 40K have chosen Space Wolves and Necrons. We decided to attempt to learn some of the rules, so my friend and I played a "game". He only had 14 necron warriors, so I matched him points wise with a war boss, 18 boys and a nob.

So he shot me to hell as I marched across the board. Once I got close and charged him, I was down to my warboss, the nob and a few boys. Once the assault began, I started to feel like I had made a big mistake choosing Orks. The shooting phases were a joke and the assault phase felt like the necrons were on par with my pieces.

Now, I understand that it's not a great way to try and army (one squad running at another), and that isn't the Ork strategy (hiking 6 inches at a time, 4ft across a table). It really was just to experience a few different rules. I'm sure we did many things wrong, but for the Necrons to shoot and then gets overwatch and then get attacks during the assault phase really felt like a cqc army has a lot stacked against it. Before I invest too much into this army, I'd like to maybe get some of your thoughts on my experience and maybe draw comparisons to your own. I was so excited to go and expand on my army this weekend and instead I've spent the whole weekend second guessing myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-26-13, 11:44 AM