DA grand master Az vs vindicare - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-11, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Caratacos's Avatar
Caratacos's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 275
Reputation: 2
Default

It's the model shot that loses the benefit of invulnerable save from any item or wargear for the rest of the battle.

So for example i Azrael leads a unit of Company Veterans. They are joined by an Interrogator-Chaplain. Later the Chaplain gets shot by said round. Now the Chaplain loses the benefit of invulnerable save from both the Lion Helm and his Rosarius. But the rest of the squad including Azrael still get to take invulnerable saves since nowhere does it say that the shield breaker destroys the piece of wargear.

It's written that the model shot loses any invulnerable saves. It's not written that the shot destroys any piece of wargear or item that gives invulnerable save.
Caratacos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-11, 04:10 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Ok, great. I don't know the 5th ed ruling for Shield Breaker, I only have the 2nd ed Shield Breaker FAQ

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-11, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Grinnsira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Reputation: 1
Default

[QUOTE=Caratacos;1056945]It's the model shot that loses the benefit of invulnerable save from any item or wargear for the rest of the battle.

So for example i Azrael leads a unit of Company Veterans. They are joined by an Interrogator-Chaplain. Later the Chaplain gets shot by said round. Now the Chaplain loses the benefit of invulnerable save from both the Lion Helm and his Rosarius. But the rest of the squad including Azrael still get to take invulnerable saves since nowhere does it say that the shield breaker destroys the piece of wargear.
QUOTE]

What if the chaplin gets shot and loses his invul but then joins Azrael would he then gain an invul save?
Grinnsira is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-11, 06:35 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

The Lion Helm grants everyone in Azrael's squad a 4++. Thusly, I don't see why a Chaplain wouldn't get an invulnerable if he joined Azrael.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-30-11, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

The snipers shot literally says that i takes away any invul saves from wargear granted to the the model the wound was allocated too.

So whoever takes the hit can not claim invul saves from any and all wargear for the rest of the game.

Sooo00ooo... chaplain is shit out of luck, unless he can learn to dodge like a wytch. Same with any thunder hammer termi, anyone in Az's squad that gets hit, or anyone that really likes having power fists not ruin there day.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-30-11, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Caratacos's Avatar
Caratacos's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 275
Reputation: 2
Default

Well, this can be debated. It says that the model that the wound is allocated to loses "any invulnerable saves granted by item or wargear immediately and for the rest of the battle".

One way to see it is that immediately when he gets shot he loses whatever invulnerable save he has got. And this save is lost for the remainder of the battle. BUT if he later joins Azrael he gets a new save, a save which he didn't have at the moment he was shot, and therefore now may use as normal.

On the other hand, this shield-breaker round gets stuck in his armour or his body and emmanates a disrupting aura that negates any invulnerable save around the body. And therefore he wouldn't even benefit from the invulnerable save of the Lion Helm if he later joined Azrael's squad.

I would stick with the first option I think.
Caratacos is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-30-11, 10:52 AM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Shield Breaker ammo destroys a targets Force/Energy/Null/Warp/Voltage Field, but has to actually hit the source for the field to go down. So I'd say that you can acquire a new invulnerable as that one hasn't been destroyed yet.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome