Cities of Death question... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Default Cities of Death question...

If you haven't played CoD yet, well, what are you waiting for? It actually makes for a very interesting game and opens up all kinds of new possibilities of list design and tactics. Having said all that, the following issue came up at the end of the game which really took me by suprise:

The mission we played was where your unit 'occupies' a building and basically plants a flag there. He who has the most flags wins the game. I was told (ironically, during the last turn at the most critical point in the game for me) that my Falcon can not occupy a ruin. I looked all through the CoD book and the term 'occupy' is not defined. He advised me that the Falcon hovers over the terrain and can not try to enter it.

1. Aside from being told this last minute, what does the term 'occupy' mean in the case of CoD? I'm failing to see the difference between a Predator driving into a ruin, taking up firing positions vs. a Falcon hovering right above it taking up firing positions.

2. I thought skimmers can enter difficult terrain, but must make a dangerous terrain test. I'm pretty sure there is a piece of Tau vehicle gear that gives a reroll for such failed tests, thus demonstrating skimmers can indeed enter terrain.


I appreciate any input you folks have.
Sarigar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 11:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

'Occupying', though I lack the resource right now, would imply that the unit is within the building, and is thus concelaed fully by it, and very much capable of resisting other attmepts to enter. Your gravtank, on the other hand, is not in the building at all. When you say they're the same thing, you're saying being inside a box and on top of a box are the same thing.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Default

I get to eat some crow. Page 9 of the CoD book is as clear as crystal that Skimmers can not occupy a building. It even makes reference this becomes important as some missions require units to occupy a building.

My fault for not knowing the rule.
Sarigar is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
pathwinder14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 999
Reputation: 1
Default

Occupying = scoring unit. Your rule book has the info on scoring units. The Falcon counts as a scoring unit.

Wisdom means having the ability to admit what you do not know. - Me

Mother nature does not give do overs. - Me too
pathwinder14 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Default

I'm pretty sure I found the relevant info. Could you provide the reference that scoring unit=occupying. COD is pretty new, so I'm starting to find the subtle differences.
Sarigar is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
mattjgilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 138
Reputation: 1
Default

Skimmers cannot enter difficult terrain. The Tau sensor spines upgrade allows a Tau Skimmer to enter difficult terrain. Generally however, skimmers can only hover over terrain.
mattjgilbert is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 04:28 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

i understood it as infantry, jetbikes etc rather than vehicles plant the flag.
cccp is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
pathwinder14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 999
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm not sure where it's at...you may need to call teh rules boys. I may be wrong but that is how I play it.

Wisdom means having the ability to admit what you do not know. - Me

Mother nature does not give do overs. - Me too
pathwinder14 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-07, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pathwinder14
Occupying = scoring unit. Your rule book has the info on scoring units. The Falcon counts as a scoring unit.
Unless using Cities of Death rules.............

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome