Biker with terminator armor - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Longinus's Avatar
Longinus's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 116
Reputation: 1
Default Biker with terminator armor

If you have the SM trait scions of mars wich means you could buy a terminator armor to a singel wounds model(and some other stuff), that means that a veteran sergeant can take a terminator armor right. So if you have a SM bike squad and you uppgrade the seargeant to a veteran seargent wich means he may select equipment from the space marines armoury you simply give him a terminator armor, would that then mean that he still is riding his bike in terminator armour or does he only have his bike as wargear but can't use it?
Longinus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

When in term arm.,you can only take wargear and wpns with a t symbol in front of it. So no bike if in term. arm.
Deceiver is offline  
post #3 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Longinus's Avatar
Longinus's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 116
Reputation: 1
Default

But the sergeant is already on a bike and I was wondering what happens to the bike if you buy him a terminator armor.
Longinus is offline  
 
post #4 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
AnarchX's Avatar
AnarchX's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 175
Reputation: 1
Default

He wouldn't be able to ride it. I suppose he could strap it on his back and carry it, but I don't think that would give him any kind of advantage...

Thanks,

AnarchX

The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
AnarchX is offline  
post #5 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

The wheels pop.
He needs to sell it back or give it to someone else.

Seriously,you need to look at what all wargear and wpns are compatible for said model before building it and buying stuff for it.
Deceiver is offline  
post #6 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
vindur's Avatar
vindur's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 249
Reputation: 1
Default

actually according to RAW it is a legal model.

the rules say you may not give a model in terminator armour a bike but you are not giving it to him, he already has it.
I cant see a reason for it but yes you may do it.

I'm walking towards you and drawing my sword. When it's drawn I shall kill you. And there's not a damn thing you can do to stop me.
vindur is offline  
post #7 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-29-08, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

You cannot circumvent the rules like that. Doesn't matter what he had 1rst. They don't go together.
Would be like giving my Hive Tyrant TL devourers for 8 pts. then giving him toxin sacs after and not have to pay 12 pts for the tl devourers cause he had the gun 1rst.
Deceiver is offline  
post #8 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-30-08, 12:20 AM
Senior Member
 
vindur's Avatar
vindur's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 249
Reputation: 1
Default

the line is "models in terminator armour may only select items with a "t".
the biker sergeant already has a bike and therefore is not selecting it. thereby not breaking a rule. its similar to how it says models may select 2 weapons from it. this doesn't replace their starting gear so its perfectly legal for a chaplain to have a fist a bolt pistol and crozius

I'm walking towards you and drawing my sword. When it's drawn I shall kill you. And there's not a damn thing you can do to stop me.
vindur is offline  
post #9 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-30-08, 04:30 AM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

Ok heres the deal... RAW its..... legal.

For the same reason that a Techmarine with his servo harness in Termy armor is legal and for the same reason that Chaplians w/ their Crozius in Termy armor is legal (if you look no where in the armory does a Crozius have a T next to it).

But it is very much against the spirit of the rules as it (unlike the Chaplian with the Crozius) was not intended and everyone knows that it was not intended. So if you do play it have fun getting people to play you cause I certainly wouldnt. I ask you nicely to please not try to argue a very much un-intended loop hole that GW has stated many times is not meant to work.



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines

Last edited by Bishop120; 04-30-08 at 04:32 AM.
Bishop120 is offline  
post #10 of 81 (permalink) Old 04-30-08, 11:17 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1
Default

The only reasons I can see for not doing it are 1) The next marine dex is virtually guaranteed to invalidate your conversion and 2) Some people will bring up the spirit of the rules etc to stop you using a a conversion that costs more points than its worth.

PS, RAW says you don't need Scions to do it but that would make it even more points.
Draco Argentum is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome