How in the world do invulnerable saves work? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-11, 04:28 PM Thread Starter

Default How in the world do invulnerable saves work?

Hey there, I'm new to this game and have a question regarding a thing explained rather vague in the rulebook IMO; Invulnerable saves.

Do they work as an additional armor save? Are they optionally used instead of armor saves? I can't wrap my head around it.
Could someone please explain?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-11, 04:36 PM

kickboxerdog's Flag is: England

with saves you either get a armour save or invunrable save, so if a weapon allows a aomour save you just get that but some weapons can ignore your armour, this is when a invunrable save comes into play( you dont get to make a armour save and a invunrable save)

most armour saves are better than invunrable saves so if your allowed a armour save you would always take that
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-11, 04:40 PM

arlins's Flag is: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jozmaster View Post
Hey there, I'm new to this game and have a question regarding a thing explained rather vague in the rulebook IMO; Invulnerable saves.

Do they work as an additional armor save? Are they optionally used instead of armor saves? I can't wrap my head around it.
Could someone please explain?
take a space marine terminator , he has a 2+ armour save OR a 5+ invunarable save .
If you shot him with a bolt pistol he would use his armour save as a bolt pistol is only AP 5 and his armour save is better .
If you shot him with a AP1 melta which would ignore his armour save , then you would use his invunarable save .

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-11, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

Ah, thank you so much guys! This explains a whole lot. This has been bugging me for a long time.