Buildings and Cover saves - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 01:58 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tahiri's Avatar
Tahiri's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 100
Reputation: 1
Default Buildings and Cover saves

Would a building ever get a cover save? If you put it in the middle of a piece of area terrain, if you had intervening models, or intervening pieces of terrain?


I would think it should, as the spirit of all three of the above rules would mean you are shooting throw something and have a chance to miss. But buildings are not 'units' and apparently only 'units' have saves...
Tahiri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default

I don't think there is any rules for cover saves for buildings, due to their size they are hard to cover. But i guess you can reach an agreement with whoever you're battle to use the same rules as for vehicles. 50% obscured gives a save of 4+.

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Pssyche's Avatar
Pssyche's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 4
Default

I've not got my Rulebook with me, but can't you only attack an occupied building?
And when you do, whether it is ranged or assault, you treat it like a vehicle?
So, if 50% of the building is obscured from the firing unit, then the building would receive a cover save.

Or also, if it had moved Flat Out in its previous movement phase, it would get one then, too...
Ha ha ha ha ha...

Though I take your life, I promise you the stars...
Pssyche is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 02:15 PM
Member
 
shadow reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moriouce View Post
I don't think there is any rules for cover saves for buildings, due to their size they are hard to cover. But i guess you can reach an agreement with whoever you're battle to use the same rules as for vehicles. 50% obscured gives a save of 4+.
I agree with moriouce.
shadow reaper is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

its 4+ for cover pretty much across the board building are usually treated as an immobile vehicle (with AV11 at best if its not a bunker).

the FAQ mentions that you cannot ram/blow up an unoccupied building but we house ruled it locally to just ignore that one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome