Armored vehicle squadrons - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 03:11 AM Thread Starter
Angryman
 
shaantitus's Avatar
shaantitus's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villany. Actually PNG. Goddamn this place is a shithole.
Posts: 4,304
Reputation: 22
Default Armored vehicle squadrons

Played a game the other week. First turn, first move of the game.Went to drive 2 leman russ(squadron) on to the top of a hill. Rolled for difficult terrain for both tanks. Bloody snake eyes.
According to the rules a roll of one is an imobilised result and if the vehicle is part of a squadron it is destroyed. As the squadron is 2 vehicles and the results were obtained sumultaneously it could be argued that both tanks are imobilised and hence destroyed. On the other hand it could also be argued that one is destroyed, reducing the squadron to one vehicle which is imobilised. When it happened we played it as both destroyed. I still managed to eke out a win but I wondered how others would have dealt with this. I guess the trick is to roll for each tank individually and apply the results one at a time.

Sanity is for the weak.
'Evil will triumph because good is dumb.' Dark Helmet,Spaceballs
According to LUKEVALENTINE's test i am a diciple of khorne. Figures really.
shaantitus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
SeattleDV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 134
Reputation: 1
Default

RB pg. 64 "...if a squardron consists of a single vehicle when an enemy unit fires at it,..."
Even though the vehicle were not being 'fired at' they did not consist of a single model when testing for terrain.
You played it correctly, both vehicles were wrecked.
SeattleDV8 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 12:29 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

You roll for DT for each model as it is moved, the rolls are not simultaneous. You should have lost 1 tank and had another immobile.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Warlock in Training's Avatar
Warlock in Training's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,475
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
You roll for DT for each model as it is moved, the rolls are not simultaneous. You should have lost 1 tank and had another immobile.
This. I understand for the sake of Game Speed to roll both dice at the same time, but your suppose to roll 1 at a time in this case.
Warlock in Training is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Luisjoey's Avatar
Luisjoey's Flag is: Venezuela
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 375
Reputation: 1
Default

Goood situation that deserves a FaQ

Visit http://calabozocriollo.foros.ws Venezuela Gaming Forum

Luisjoey is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-14-11, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Cerberus's Avatar
Cerberus's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1
Default

To bad you can't transfer the 1st tanks immobilization result to the 2nd tank like a normal damage allocation.

The Space Marine Commander said, "We fight with honor, and ferocious precision."
To which the Imperial Guard Commander replied, "We do it with Math."


6th Edition Record
Salamanders: W 0 - L 0 - D 0
Guard: W 0 - L 0 - D 0
GK Inquisition: W 0 - L 0 - D 0
Cerberus is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-11, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Angryman
 
shaantitus's Avatar
shaantitus's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villany. Actually PNG. Goddamn this place is a shithole.
Posts: 4,304
Reputation: 22
Default

I still won the game and it was a friendly(only kind i play) but it was an odd situation. 300pts worth of tanks gone before a shot was fired. Bummer

Sanity is for the weak.
'Evil will triumph because good is dumb.' Dark Helmet,Spaceballs
According to LUKEVALENTINE's test i am a diciple of khorne. Figures really.
shaantitus is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome