Quick Question Concerning Chaplains - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-30-11, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Stephen_Newman's Avatar
Stephen_Newman's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Solihull (UK West Midlands)
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 5
Default Quick Question Concerning Chaplains

I am hoping to play a guy soon who uses a Chaplain. I own Codex Marines so I know how they work but I do have annoying question which I shall use a scenario to demonstrate:

If I charge a Captain and a Tactical Squad at a Terminator Squad with a Chaplain and the Captain is in base contact with the Chaplain only. Say in the Assault phase the Captain kills the Chaplain. Now when the Terminators make their attacks on the Tactical Squad do they benefit from the re-rolls to hit?

My first thought would be no because the Chaplain was killed in initiative order but these things are best checked out first.

Thanks for any help given.


I have recently started a new Blog. I would really appreciate it if you would LOOK AT IT
Stephen_Newman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-30-11, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

Liturgiies of battle says , they get to re-roll failed to hit on the turn he assaults .
He,s not assaulting , he,s being assaulted .
I always thought it went hand in hand with the initial charge and didnt for defenders
react .
Id appreciate any views on this myself .
arlins is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-30-11, 09:59 AM
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Yep, the rule is only in effect on the turn that the chaplain's squad charges, not is charged.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-30-11, 10:21 AM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,553
Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen_Newman View Post
My first thought would be no because the Chaplain was killed in initiative order but these things are best checked out first.
To cover the other half of the question, the initiative order is a red herring: once the Chaplain grants the benefit to the squad they keep it.

Fluff-wise this makes sense as he is extorting them as they charge so they are in a righteous frenzy when they arrive; they might even fight harder if the Chaplain was knocked down.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-30-11, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Stephen_Newman's Avatar
Stephen_Newman's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Solihull (UK West Midlands)
Posts: 3,864
Reputation: 5
Default

Thanks to all who commented. +rep if I can!


I have recently started a new Blog. I would really appreciate it if you would LOOK AT IT
Stephen_Newman is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome