IG HQ and Orders - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 12:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,246
Reputation: 5
Default IG HQ and Orders

I need to have something cleared up, i played a guy today and he played Imperial Guard and i unleashed my Chaos Space Marines.

I was lucky and was able to teleport my Chaos Space Marine Terminator Squad right on top of this guys Imperial HQ, well in 2 turns i wiped out his HQ a single Kommisar.

I was proud of myself, well this guy then in the begining of his third turn rolled for orders i said he could'nt as he had no HQ to give orders, this guy was adamment that he could roll for Orders, even the GW staff were confused.

So what is the situation here can a person playing IG and having his HQ wiped out early, still roll for Orders.

I say they can't.

In the end he pulled out after the third turn, he chucked a hissy fit.

Ultramarines are Pussies

Except Dark Angels, any chapter that sounds like a Death Metal Band can't be that bad.
Achaylus72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Various models in the IG Army can issue orders not just the HQ, They are

Company Commander (HQ)
Platoon Commander (Troops)

And the various Special Character variations of them.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

As i play, your orders stop with the death of the CC officer.
Sounds like you just pissed him off and he was grasping at straws
unless as Aramo points out there was a PCS or IC about with the ability
arlins is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,246
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arlins View Post
As i play, your orders stop with the death of the CC officer.
Sounds like you just pissed him off and he was grasping at straws
unless as Aramo points out there was a PCS or IC about with the ability
His sole HQ was an IC Kommisar.

Ultramarines are Pussies

Except Dark Angels, any chapter that sounds like a Death Metal Band can't be that bad.
Achaylus72 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achaylus72 View Post
His sole HQ was an IC Kommisar.
Lord Commissars cannot issue orders, so his orders must have been from Platoon Command Squads, if so he was correct.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achaylus72 View Post
His sole HQ was an IC Kommisar.
Maybe he had a ouija board

seriously if he had no other HQ or IC that could issue orders , then orders die with the commisar.
arlins is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,246
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arlins View Post
Maybe he had a ouija board

seriously if he had no other HQ or IC that could issue orders , then orders die with the commisar.
That is what i thought but tried to tell me otherwise but he knew he was stuffed, he IG sans Kommisar could no longer receive orders, effectively his army was stuffed.

If he thought otherwise he would not have quit the game at the end of the third turn.

Also a question, i am not offay with IG what would it mean if an IG player loses his HQ are they sitting ducks, as i suspect they would be.

Ultramarines are Pussies

Except Dark Angels, any chapter that sounds like a Death Metal Band can't be that bad.
Achaylus72 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achaylus72 View Post
That is what i thought but tried to tell me otherwise but he knew he was stuffed, he IG sans Kommisar could no longer receive orders, effectively his army was stuffed.

If he thought otherwise he would not have quit the game at the end of the third turn.

Also a question, i am not offay with IG what would it mean if an IG player loses his HQ are they sitting ducks, as i suspect they would be.
COMMISSARS with a C

You do not need an HQ to issue orders and Commissars have no interaction with orders at all so it's irrelevant either way.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:26 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Listen to Aramoro.

The Company Command Squad and the Platoon Command Squads are what give the orders, not a lone Commissar.

Imperial Guard are not dependent on Orders to win either.
The (arguably) most effective IG lists don't even use orders at all, besides an occasional (but not needed) Bring It Down.



Achaylus72, assuming your opponent still had his Company Commander and/or Platoon Commanders, then he was probably correct.


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,246
Reputation: 5
Default

@Aramoro Ok Commisar, sorry i have a Russian fetish. Thanks for clearing that up for me.

@KoC thank you also for the clarification, i'll know next time and i'll make ammends to the poor old chap.

Ultramarines are Pussies

Except Dark Angels, any chapter that sounds like a Death Metal Band can't be that bad.
Achaylus72 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome