surrounding in an assault - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-15-11, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ashikenshin's Avatar
ashikenshin's Flag is: Guatemala
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Guatemala
Posts: 167
Reputation: 1
Default surrounding in an assault

A question popped in my group as to whether you can assault and surround the enemy unit with your models if they move 6 or less inches. Since the rules say that only the first model gets to walk the shortest possible route and the rest whatever. If that's the case then the assaulted unit will be destroyed every time it has to do a fall back? since it cannot move between enemy models. Also if that's the case then everyone of his models will get an attack off if he just bunches them up.

Is this the case?
ashikenshin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-15-11, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

pg 45 BRB Falling back from close combat says
"models falling back from a combat will move through all enemy models that were involved in that combat"

So no, you can't trap the unit by wrapping around it.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Note that, while the first model is the only one that has to move the shortest distance, the other models still have restrictions on their movements, namely that first they must assault unengaged enemy models, then models that are engaged, then just move within unit coherency. So you would find it very difficult to completely surround a unit with your own, even if it could do any good.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome