Rescue - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-12-11, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
visit roleplay threads!
 
unxpekted22's Avatar
unxpekted22's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,259
Reputation: 21
Default Rescue

this is a question regarding the special scenario called 'rescue' from the 4th edition rulebook.

Are models with the real objective allowed to get in or reembark a transport vehicle while holding it?

You can never be prepared for the unexpected


unxpekted22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-12-11, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
kiro the avenger!'s Avatar
kiro the avenger!'s Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Where you least expect it
Posts: 1,509
Reputation: 3
Default

I dint have 4th ed but probably not

........
Through temptation and horror
I have held to my faith
As a drowning man grasps at a rock
Judge me not by my weakness
Remember not my sins of late
kiro the avenger! is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-12-11, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

took a little time to post this? 5th is what 3-4 years old now?

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-11, 01:23 AM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unxpekted22 View Post
this is a question regarding the special scenario called 'rescue' from the 4th edition rulebook.

Are models with the real objective allowed to get in or reembark a transport vehicle while holding it?
I can't see why not, there's nothing I'm seeing that would stop them from being able to embark normally (though not till the turn after they've picked up the objective, obviously). If you're playing the Rescue senario using 5th ed rules though, remember that vehicles are significantly tougher, which might change the game balance a bit, and also think about disallowing running with the objective, as that could make it too easy for models with the objective to get away.

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-11, 03:23 AM Thread Starter
visit roleplay threads!
 
unxpekted22's Avatar
unxpekted22's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,259
Reputation: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
took a little time to post this? 5th is what 3-4 years old now?
So? I was looking for a scenario I hadnt tried before and happen to have the 4th edition rulebook laying around. I didnt get a chance to play 4 edition long enough to get beyond the standard missions. And yeah it only took a few seconds give or take so it didnt hurt my day or anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddermax View Post
I can't see why not, there's nothing I'm seeing that would stop them from being able to embark normally (though not till the turn after they've picked up the objective, obviously). If you're playing the Rescue senario using 5th ed rules though, remember that vehicles are significantly tougher, which might change the game balance a bit, and also think about disallowing running with the objective, as that could make it too easy for models with the objective to get away.
significantly tougher, which might change the game balance a bit, and also think about disallowing running with the objective, as that could make it too easy for models with the objective to get away.[/quote]

We felt the same about the running and decided that only the unit whose model is carrying the objective couldn't run, as if the objective were something heavy or fragile or something like that.

I figure it would be even easier to get away if they could hop in a vehicle and dont I dont think Units were allowed to get back in vehicles until fifth but I'm not sure.

Anyway thanks for the reply.

You can never be prepared for the unexpected


unxpekted22 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-11, 10:14 AM
Unhinged Hobo
 
GrimzagGorwazza's Avatar
GrimzagGorwazza's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,341
Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unxpekted22 View Post
I dont think Units were allowed to get back in vehicles until fifth but I'm not sure.

Units were able to reenbark vehicles even as early as second edition. I can't vouch for rogue trader as i never played it.
Embarking vehicles pg 62 forth edition rulebook

GrimzagGorwazza is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-11, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Luisjoey's Avatar
Luisjoey's Flag is: Venezuela
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 375
Reputation: 1
Default

the rescue is a counter, just a mark

so you can get into your vehicle without trouble

Visit http://calabozocriollo.foros.ws Venezuela Gaming Forum

Luisjoey is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-11, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimzagGorwazza View Post
Units were able to reenbark vehicles even as early as second edition. I can't vouch for rogue trader as i never played it.
Embarking vehicles pg 62 forth edition rulebook
You could embark and disembark in Rogue Trader, hell you could do a lot more than you can now.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome