Vehicles and Special Rules... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-09-11, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crimzzen's Avatar
Crimzzen's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,645
Reputation: 3
Default Vehicles and Special Rules...

Couple of questions, looking for answers supported with proof.

Can a vehicle gain stealth if the unit it's transporting carries it? Intuition says no as they are two separate units but a lot of special rules seem to transverse the ether.

IE: A unit with scout confers it to their dedicated transport right? But does a vehicle with steal confer it to the unit its carrying? IE a vendetta filled with vets?

Thoughts on both the stealth and scout questions?

EDIT:
For clarity my two main questions are:
Can a vehicle gain stealth from the unit it is carrying?
Does a scouting vehicle confer scout to the unit it is carrying?

Allouttabubblegum? - 40K Blog - contains batreps, tactics, and all my work including past and present! Sign up today!

Last edited by Crimzzen; 06-09-11 at 09:50 PM. Reason: For clarity
Crimzzen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-09-11, 10:00 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Only rules that are specifically stated to be conferred to a transport are (like Scout).

A vehicle doesn't need to confer the Scout rule to it's occupants, much like a Drop Pod doesn't need to confer Deep Strike to it's occupants. The embarked unit is just along for the ride.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-09-11, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Note, that a unit that has infiltrate also gives scout to the vehicle, as I recall.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-09-11, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crimzzen's Avatar
Crimzzen's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,645
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Only rules that are specifically stated to be conferred to a transport are (like Scout).

A vehicle doesn't need to confer the Scout rule to it's occupants, much like a Drop Pod doesn't need to confer Deep Strike to it's occupants. The embarked unit is just along for the ride.
Are you sure about that? To me it would seem that both would need scout - similarly to how an IC would need a bike to make a 12" move with a bike squad. He doesn't stop them from moving but they don't get to use the bike rules...

Allouttabubblegum? - 40K Blog - contains batreps, tactics, and all my work including past and present! Sign up today!
Crimzzen is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-09-11, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimzzen View Post
Are you sure about that? To me it would seem that both would need scout - similarly to how an IC would need a bike to make a 12" move with a bike squad. He doesn't stop them from moving but they don't get to use the bike rules...
It's specifically stated in the rules to be conferred.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-10-11, 12:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crimzzen's Avatar
Crimzzen's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,645
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masked Jackal View Post
It's specifically stated in the rules to be conferred.
It's specifically stated in the rules that units confer scout to dedicated transports but nowhere does it state that vehicles confer scout to the unit they're holding.

Allouttabubblegum? - 40K Blog - contains batreps, tactics, and all my work including past and present! Sign up today!
Crimzzen is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-10-11, 01:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Masked Jackal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mormon-Town. D:
Posts: 2,247
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimzzen View Post
It's specifically stated in the rules that units confer scout to dedicated transports but nowhere does it state that vehicles confer scout to the unit they're holding.
The vehicle is the one making a scout move. Troops on board don't matter.

Writer of crappy fics, I hope you might derive some enjoyment from them.

FictionPress.com: For original stuff.

FanFiction.net: For stuff that is part of an established universe.
Masked Jackal is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-10-11, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimzzen View Post
It's specifically stated in the rules that units confer scout to dedicated transports but nowhere does it state that vehicles confer scout to the unit they're holding.
And nowhere does it state that drop pods confer deep strike to the unit they're holding either...............

To answer the OP.
Stealth, no.
Scout, no, but it doesn't need to as it can still make the Scout move with the unit embarked.

To Jackal, no, a unit with Infiltrate does not confer Scout to their vehicle. What they can do is Outflank in their vehicle. Maybe that's what you're thinking of.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome