Ordnance Pen - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Avatar
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 566
Reputation: 1
Ordnance Pen

On the vanquisher BC (or other IG LR gun) it says it rolls 2d6 pen plus is ordnance. Does this mean it rolls for each dice seperately or roll 4 then pick highest or other method?

Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger,
(Unless it blows off both your legs)

See my Purge Army plz
Burn the Herestic Burner
Kill the Mutant Killer
Purge the Unclean Purger
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Igniskhin's Avatar
Igniskhin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Middle Georgia USA
Posts: 211
Reputation: 1
Default

the BRB, sais "...when you roll to penetrate a vehicle's armour with an ordnance weapons roll two dice instead and pick the highest result!" Pg 60

I cant find any special rule for the battle cannon stating you should roll 2 sets of 2 and pick the highest so i'm assuming the BRB rule stands as written.
Igniskhin is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

Vanquisher battle cannon rolls 2 d6 plus its strenth , its in its entry pge 49 IG codex
( its asterixed)
It is not ordinance its heavy 1 so the usual 2 d6 pick the highest for ordinance dont effect it .
arlins is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Avatar
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 566
Reputation: 1
Default

The point of that question is any weapon that has a stat of Ordnance, 2d6 armour pen does it role the 2 lots d6 seperately or anyother option?

Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger,
(Unless it blows off both your legs)

See my Purge Army plz
Burn the Herestic Burner
Kill the Mutant Killer
Purge the Unclean Purger
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
forkbanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosDefilerofUlthuan View Post
The point of that question is any weapon that has a stat of Ordnance, 2d6 armour pen does it role the 2 lots d6 seperately or anyother option?
If a weapon had the Ornance rule and 2d6 penetration, you would roll 2d6 twice and pick between the totals.
forkbanger is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosDefilerofUlthuan View Post
The point of that question is any weapon that has a stat of Ordnance, 2d6 armour pen does it role the 2 lots d6 seperately or anyother option?
specifically what weapon are you talking about , all IG ordinance weapons do strenth
plus 2d6 pick the highest , no ordinance rolls two d6 and adds them for pen .

The only weapon to do so is the vanquisher battle cannonwhich isnt ord so just rolls
2d6 + strenth
arlins is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 05:24 PM
Member
 
laviathan13089's Avatar
laviathan13089's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Eye of Terror
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1
Default

isnt the medusa with bastion breacher shells an ordinance weapon that penetrates on 2d6+S?
laviathan13089 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
arlins's Avatar
arlins's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bury, lancashire
Posts: 537
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laviathan13089 View Post
isnt the medusa with bastion breacher shells an ordinance weapon that penetrates on 2d6+S?
Heavy 1 blast , not ordinance
arlins is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosDefilerofUlthuan View Post
The point of that question is any weapon that has a stat of Ordnance, 2d6 armour pen does it role the 2 lots d6 seperately or anyother option?
There is no such weapon as of yet. Once GW come up with such a weapon they will no doubt tell us how to use it. IMHO probably roll 2 white and one black dice, pick the higher of the two white dice and add S+ Black (as 2D6 penetration is always written as roll an extra d6)

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-11, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

There have been such weapons in the past. And yes, you rolled two pairs of dice and took the highest from each pair. Hmmmm, I think I see why they got rid of them..................

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome