Grey knights questions. - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Yeah, the UK tournies have been disallowing allies for years, nothing new there.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Sacrean's Avatar
Sacrean's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Titusville, Pa
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Default

They are space marines yes. They are loyalist yes. But they were never technically a chapter. They were created apart from the rest of the space marines to be protectors against Chaos. They don't exsist as far as the greater Imperiam is concerned. I know that a lot of that is just fluff but sometimes fluff does have to be taken into account.

Sacrean is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 05:07 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

No it doesn't. It is to be never taken into account unless playing a fun game.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
 
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
SlamHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 230
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacrean View Post
They are space marines yes. They are loyalist yes. But they were never technically a chapter. They were created apart from the rest of the space marines to be protectors against Chaos. They don't exsist as far as the greater Imperiam is concerned. I know that a lot of that is just fluff but sometimes fluff does have to be taken into account.
*FLUFF STUFF*

In fact they are a Loyalist Marine Chapther. They are designated Chapter #666 with the sucessor Chapter known as the Exorcists.

They could take allies, but only if forced to by the Inquisition. Bummer for those allies though, because unless they are Space Marines, they will be killed immediately after the campaign by the Inquisition.

*RULES STUFF*

Just because Codex: Grey Knights is the sucessor to Daemonhunters, does not mean that references to Daemonhunters should also include Codex: Grey Knights.

DAEMONHUNTERS/GREY KNIGHTS: W-33/L-3/D-3

Grey Knights: What Space Marines want to be when they grow up!
SlamHammer is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

But if the rule that effects daemonhunters doesn't effect grey knights doesn't that mean that the daemonhunter codex is still useable?


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-11, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Anarkitty's Avatar
Anarkitty's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 413
Reputation: 1
Default

I think the Daemonhunters codex is still valid in friendly games, however it is no longer legal in tournaments, and I would therefore say it is not legal in competitive games, either.
Just because the rule doesn't apply any more doesn't mean that the old codex is still valid, and just because a codex replaces another doesn't mean that rules that applied to the old one apply to the new one. There is no basis in rules or history for either assertion.
The "official" validity of a codex is determined by GW saying it is valid or not for their tournaments. The "friendly" validity is determined by your opponent being willing to play against you with it or not. If you don't know, it is generally good form to use tournament rules, so people don't get surprised.

Check out my Codex: Scions of Slaanesh (Grey Knights complete rewrite)
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?p=959181

And my Necromunda Escher gang project log (with lots of pictures)
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/....php?p=1007914

In our embrace of the pleasures of the flesh we feel the embrace of the Dark Prince
She asks nothing of us but to enjoy life, and in doing so we bring glory to Him
Give up your petty faiths and morals and join us in the bosom of the Goddess of Pleasure
Anarkitty is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome