Skimmers and flying bases - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Default Skimmers and flying bases

Okay here's an interesting one... For models like Valkaries and Stormravens that have large flying bases... Are they suppose to remain on their bases or are you suppose to put the model itself on the table with no base... The BRB says (p71) The skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it cannot be left hovering in midair... Is this on the base or no base...

Obviously if it was left on it's base it's very hard to keep these suckers in cover... But at the same time the BRB as says that embarking units measure 2" from the base...

Hopefully you guys see my confusion and can help. Thanks in advance!
shampawnya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 05:37 PM
Member
 
laviathan13089's Avatar
laviathan13089's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Eye of Terror
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shampawnya View Post
Okay here's an interesting one... For models like Valkaries and Stormravens that have large flying bases... Are they suppose to remain on their bases or are you suppose to put the model itself on the table with no base... The BRB says (p71) The skimmer must be set down on the table and left in place at the end of it's move - it cannot be left hovering in midair... Is this on the base or no base...

Obviously if it was left on it's base it's very hard to keep these suckers in cover... But at the same time the BRB as says that embarking units measure 2" from the base...

Hopefully you guys see my confusion and can help. Thanks in advance!
i thought the rulebook stated that models should never be removed from their bases, even if immobilized...
laviathan13089 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
KhainiteAssassin's Avatar
KhainiteAssassin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,083
Reputation: 1
Default

te BRB ruling of must be set down on the table is referring to people trying to lift the model up to an infinite height in order to fire through what would otherwise impede LOS.

IE: I put one of my ravagers behind a wall but "move it up" in order to see over the wall.

The rule is meaning that the BASE has to be on the table. get it now?

WIPS: CHECK THEM OUT!
Space wolves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=54246
Warriors of chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=60813
Dark Eldar - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=75375
DE FLUFF - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=86956
My armies.


the key to every good DE army makeup. Always have a backup plan, try to take everything in multiples, and use everything you can to your advantage, being a sneaky bastard within the rules, as it were.
KhainiteAssassin is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Default

Boo... Not the answer I was hoping for, but does end my confusion... Thanks guys
shampawnya is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 06:54 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Khainite has the right of it, also the base must be removed, if possible, if the skimmer becomes immobilized.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

As for passengers disembarking, I just measure 2" from the entry points looking straight down at the vehicle, then place the passengers at the corresponding spot on the ground.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 07:39 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
As for passengers disembarking, I just measure 2" from the entry points looking straight down at the vehicle, then place the passengers at the corresponding spot on the ground.
Depends on the rules for the specific skimmer.
The Storm Raven rules say anywhere within two inches of the base. So you could have a dreadnought unload up to two inches away from the front of the Storm Raven. Not sure about the wording on the other skimmer as I do not run them.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Terabyt3's Avatar
Terabyt3's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 116
Reputation: 1
Default

Eldar tanks are 2" from access points. So it's rear.... (there's a joke there somewhere)
Terabyt3 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-11, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terabyt3 View Post
Eldar tanks are 2" from access points. So it's rear.... (there's a joke there somewhere)
who's there?.... wait wrong joke?

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome