Wound allocation - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-11, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1
Default Wound allocation

I was reading Midget913 tactica on Daemons when i stumbled upon this line:

Quote: "Taking all of the upgrade options for a unit of Bloodcrushers allows you to abuse, I mean take advantage of, the new wound allocation rules. With all of the options you have to take 5 unsaved wounds before you are even required to remove a model. Definitely a good thing. "

Is this valic? have they made new rules concerning allocation wounds on indentical multiple wound models?

The 5th rulebook states:
"Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple wound models you must remove whole models as casualties where possible. Wounds may not be spread around to avoid
removing models. "


Does anyone know about this?

PS
Its a great tactica!
Zeephox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-11, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Yes it is. If you have what's called a complex unit then you assign each wounding hit to each model individually. You then take the saves for those models and group them into sets of Identical models, you then apply wounds to each model in each group until you run out of wounds.

So if you have 5 Crushers one with Fury and they suffer 5 wounds. You have a complex unit so you assign 1 wound to each Crusher, you roll the saves. Say you fail one on the guy with Fury and 3 on the other guys. You group those wounds up, so the Fury guy loses 1 wound, the other group suffers 3 wounds which kills one crusher and wounds another.

Like this

Crusher with Fury (1) - Fail Save
Crusher (1) - Fail Save
Crusher (1) - Fail Save
Crusher (1) - Fail Save
Crusher (1) - Pass Save

The Crusher with Fury suffers a wound, and the group of 4 suffers 3 wounds, killing one of them.


If on the other hand you have this

Crusher with Fury
Crusher with Icon
Crusher with Instrument
Crusher
Crusher

like that, you suffer 5 wounds you can assign them like this

Crusher with Fury (1) -Fail save
Crusher with Icon (1)- Fail save
Crusher with Instrument (1) - Fail save
Crusher (1) - Fail Save
Crusher (1) - Pass Save

Then if you Fail and pass like that, you'll end up with 4 Crushers on 1 wound each and one on 2 wounds.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog

Last edited by Aramoro; 04-19-11 at 11:21 AM.
Aramoro is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-11, 11:45 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you for the answer Aramoro. Made it all clear to me
Zeephox is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-11, 10:13 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

The key is that with a unit of four with all upgrades, you do not have a unit of identical models. You have a unit of four different models.

BC 1 - Fury
BC 2 - Icon
BC 3 - Instrument
BC 4 - no upgrade

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-11, 10:35 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Midge should have said that it is possible to take 5 unsaved wounds before you have to remove a model, it is a long way from being a guarentee.

Playing around with proper wound allocation is a very useful thing to do, but which a lot of people that I play don't do... If I have done 4 wounds and 2 wounds that ignore armour to a regular unit they'll remove 2 models then allocate the rest; I can't convince them to do it properly.

Tim/Steve is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome