Running... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NewGuy55's Avatar
NewGuy55's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1
Default Running...

Can you Run into a unit? Not charge but D6 run and lock them into combat?

Praise To Khorne
5th Edition W2 L1 D1
NewGuy55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 01:03 AM
Senior Member
 
VanitusMalus's Avatar
VanitusMalus's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 795
Reputation: 1
Default

no, if you move within 1" of a unit you must be in the assault phase and assaulting them. jetbikes and jump pack units can move over enemy units but can not end their movement within 1" of the unit.
VanitusMalus is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 01:05 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NewGuy55's Avatar
NewGuy55's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1
Default

man...thats super lame....guess GW doesnt want "running" to be a legit tatic...

Praise To Khorne
5th Edition W2 L1 D1
NewGuy55 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 02:30 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Um, units with Fleet sure like to do it...

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 02:41 AM
Senior Member
 
KhainiteAssassin's Avatar
KhainiteAssassin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,083
Reputation: 1
Default

DeathKlokk, he was talking about moving into CQB with the run move, not with the charge after.

Fleet units do get their charge after though as you said, and the run move allows them to 'run' rather then shoot in order to charge at a longer distance.

I dont see why anyone would think or use a d6 move to try and get into CQB rather then shoot something like a pistol then use a dedicated 6 inch move in the assault phase.

WIPS: CHECK THEM OUT!
Space wolves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=54246
Warriors of chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=60813
Dark Eldar - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=75375
DE FLUFF - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=86956
My armies.


the key to every good DE army makeup. Always have a backup plan, try to take everything in multiples, and use everything you can to your advantage, being a sneaky bastard within the rules, as it were.
KhainiteAssassin is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 03:00 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Because the enemy is 7" away?

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 03:26 AM
Senior Member
 
VX485's Avatar
VX485's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 359
Reputation: 1
Default

running is a legit tactic, more so for lightly armoured armies i.e guard, orks, eldar, DE. You may not be in assault range so running to an objective and behind cover for a turn is quite a legit tactic
VX485 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Epidemius's Avatar
Epidemius's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Eye of Terror
Posts: 222
Reputation: 1
no, you aren't able to do that. but you are legally allowed to, if you have the fleet special rule, to run within an inch of an enemy unit (or 6 inches, which is easier and will have the same effect) and then charge them in the assault phase.

"In the embrace of great Nurgle, I am no longer afraid, for with His pestilential favour I have become that which I once most feared: Death."
-Kulvain Hestarius of the Death Guard
Epidemius is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 07:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NewGuy55's Avatar
NewGuy55's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KhainiteAssassin View Post
DeathKlokk, he was talking about moving into CQB with the run move, not with the charge after.

Fleet units do get their charge after though as you said, and the run move allows them to 'run' rather then shoot in order to charge at a longer distance.

I dont see why anyone would think or use a d6 move to try and get into CQB rather then shoot something like a pistol then use a dedicated 6 inch move in the assault phase.
genestealers cant shoots and Id rather Get Lictors and Raverners into CQB then fire 2 little shots

Praise To Khorne
5th Edition W2 L1 D1
NewGuy55 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-13-11, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewGuy55 View Post
genestealers cant shoots and Id rather Get Lictors and Raverners into CQB then fire 2 little shots
Raveners have Fleet anyway, and a 12" charge range.
Lictors have a 6" charge range, so I'm not sure why you'd rather use a d6" Run move instead of that.
Winterous is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome