Righteous Zeal Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-14-08, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default Righteous Zeal Question


Since I play alot of games against Black Templars the 'Righteous Zeal' rule has some in for a fair amount of scrutiny, just wondering if people could give me some feedback on the issue of when a Righteous Zealing unit fights.

(Note: I searched the forum about this but only found one thread which mentioned this, and even then had the alternate conclusion to the one I drew)

First off wording of the righteous zeal rule:

"This is identical to a 'Consolidate' move that has been achieved through a massacre result and follows all the normal rules give in the Warhammer 40K rulebook"

The issue is therefore that under normal circumstances a Consolidating unit does not fight in the same turn as it consolidates into BtB contact with an enemy unit. In effect if the Righteous Zeal move is identical to a consolidate move, the combat is worked out next turn (ie the Templar player's turn), this is relevant because it means a.) the unit is locked and so can not be shot at again, but also b.) they are locked at the start of their own turn and so have to spend a combat phase hacking up whatever they have Zealed into.

The only other bit of evidence I could muster was that the consolidation rules state that the unit:

"Does not count as charging when combat is worked out next turn"
[Emphasis mine]

This seems pretty clear the consolidated combats are not resolved in the turn the consolidation move occurs, meaning it is a legitimate tactic to drop a couple of gun drones next to a crusader squad, which the subsequent Zeal move contacts with, effectively locking the unit in an insiginificant combat for a turn, giving time for a redeployment/second round of shooting.



EDIT: Spelling
Zarl451 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-14-08, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
Engelus's Avatar
Engelus's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 811

the righteous zeal takes place at the end of your shooting phase but before the assault phase, therefore if they consolidate into your troops they are in base to base at the beginning of your assault phase and therefore an assault takes place which could result in a victory and another massacre die roll and another consolidation. quite honestly this is the only way that a Black Templar army can win against a tau army, and its not always easy to pull off.

if contact is made during a consolidation move (any consolidation move) then there is no charge. however, especially against tau, a charge isn't really necessary is it.

also it should be noted there are conditions which could make the righteous zeal more or less predictable, so you may not be able to use it to your advantage all the time. (nor should you cause that's mean.)

Last edited by Engelus; 04-14-08 at 07:17 PM.
Engelus is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome