Abaddon's Daemon Weapon - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 01:25 PM Thread Starter
Boc
Like a Bawss
 
Boc's Avatar
Boc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 4,111
Reputation: 47
Default Abaddon's Daemon Weapon

In a tournament I played last weekend, I got two different answers in two different games for the same issue.

Facts:
- Abaddon has 4 base attacks +D6 for his daemon weapon.

- Chaos Lord daemon weapons, under their entry, state that a roll of 1 causes the model to take a wound and get no attacks off

- Abaddon's entry says nothing about the taking of the wound, despite his weapon being a daemon weapon

I had assumed that his worked the same as Lord weapons, in that he suffered a wound and did not attack at all. My first opponent, when I rolled a 1, asked to see the weapon's entry when I said that Abaddon would get 0 attacks off (this was the first time he'd faced Abaddon in years), thinking that it was a pretty stupid rule for such an expensive character. I have only used Abaddon twice myself (save him for 2500 pt or higher games), and wasn't entirely sure either. After studying the two entries, he said I should play it as a +1 to his base 4 attacks, which I did.

Fast forward to my last game against the owner of the FLGS, the same thing happens, and now I'm thinking that a 1 would just give him a crappy +1 attack in CC. Same discussion happened with him (who has played against Abaddon or with him much more often than me) and he asked the judge to come over, who ruled in favour of the 0 attacks at all, which I had been inclined to agree with before my first game.

Long story short: does Abaddon's DW act in the same way as a Chaos Lord's, giving him 0 attacks on a roll of 1 on a D6 or is it simply +1 attack?

I normally wouldn't care since I run Kharn instead of him, but Abaddon and friends in their LR managed to kill off an average of 1500 or so points of the enemy (one game every one of my opponent's troop choices) and I'm toying around with the idea of trying to include him for lower points games.

Thanks!


Heresy-Online's Expeditious Stories Challenge 13-06: "Serenity" has started, get your stories in by July 11th!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanner94ezekiel View Post
3. Nothing Boc said should ever be taken seriously. Unless he's talking about being behind you. Then you run like fuck.
Boc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

This is a Bizzarely controversial one. It's a Daemon Weapon, it follows the rules for Daemon Weapons, so if you roll a 1 it stabs him.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Caliban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 299
Reputation: 1
Default

it is 0 attacks as it does state that it is a daemon weapon. stupid rule none the less
Caliban is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
Synack's Flag is: South Africa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 188
Reputation: 1
Default

Yep, you cause a wound to yourself and get 0 attacks.

It's pretty balanced if you ask me, 84% of the time you're getting anywhere between 6 and 10 attacks base at S8 in inititive order (not counting charging attacks).

I'd say thats worth a 16% chance to stab yourself (you still get your invun).
Synack is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 89
Reputation: 1
Default

does abby also get the +1 attack for having two CC weapons? or do we go buy the rule regarding two different special weapons?
uber is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Boc
Like a Bawss
 
Boc's Avatar
Boc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 4,111
Reputation: 47
Default

Okay, that's what I thought when starting the tourney. On the brightside, neither time did he fail his invuln (though the first game he did die to a single fearless wound...)

Thanks all!

Edit: I don't think that he gets the +1 attack, but I admittedly rely to heavily on ArmyBuilder being correct


Heresy-Online's Expeditious Stories Challenge 13-06: "Serenity" has started, get your stories in by July 11th!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanner94ezekiel View Post
3. Nothing Boc said should ever be taken seriously. Unless he's talking about being behind you. Then you run like fuck.
Boc is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Avatar
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 566
Reputation: 1
Default

The awnser to ubers question is no as he has 2 different special ccw's which it states in the BGB meaning he gets 0 extra atks

Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger,
(Unless it blows off both your legs)

See my Purge Army plz
Burn the Herestic Burner
Kill the Mutant Killer
Purge the Unclean Purger
ChaosDefilerofUlthuan is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
HiveMinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 443
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosDefilerofUlthuan View Post
The awnser to ubers question is no as he has 2 different special ccw's which it states in the BGB meaning he gets 0 extra atks
Not to mention that daemon weapons are two-handed weapons, so you couldn't have a 2nd CCW anyway.

HiveMinder is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Yes, he's listed as having the something-claw and something-sword, but it states that these two powerful artifacts result in a Daemon Weapon with a bunch of special rules. Abaddon does not get +1 attack for having two close combat weapons as he does not, he has one two-handed weapon.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-05-11, 07:29 PM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

This arguement came up a few months back, where D-A-C frontlined it into about 30 pages..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome