Tyranid Harpy/Flyer Questions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-03-11, 11:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xela's Avatar
Xela's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 327
Reputation: 1
Default Tyranid Harpy/Flyer Questions

1) I'm planning on converting a Harpy, how big do you think the base should be?

2) How does a unit with a flying base benefit from cover? Do you measure the plastic stand as part of the cover or the model?
Xela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-04-11, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Zaden's Avatar
Zaden's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rocky View, AB
Posts: 803
Reputation: 1
Default

1) I would say a monstrous creature base would suffice, with a plastic stand attached. Some might even use the larger oval MC base (Trygon base).

2) With true line of sight, and the 50% rule for determining if a MC receives a cover save, this is situationally dependent. You use TLoS to see if the Harpy receives the cover save exactly how you have modelled it. So if you model it way off the ground, chances are you will almost never receive a cover save. Model it close enough to the ground and small enough and you can easily receive a cover save from Gargoyles. Such is the 5th edition world we live in.


Click to feed! =)
Zaden is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-04-11, 07:20 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Use either the MC base or trygon base- so thats the 60mm round base or the big oval base. Justr depends on what you have going spare, or what you need to support your model.

As for cover... forget it.
MCs rarely get cover anyway and units on flying stands are pretty tricky to give cover saves to, add the 2 together and your probably out of luck unless you are near a venomthrope.
- its the biggest disadvantage of a harpy that if you're playing anyone with a S10 AP4 (or better) weapon then it can 1 hit kill you with very little you can do to prevent it.

Tim/Steve is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome