Rules clarifications - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-11, 05:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Maverike Prime's Avatar
Maverike Prime's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 213
Reputation: 6
Default Rules clarifications

Okay so I've been in the hobby for a long time but due to various problems I almost never play. Now I've found a place that is both not and hour's drive from me, and fun to be at, so I'm getting back into the gaming part of the hobby. There are a couple questions I'm running into in reading through the rule book and looking at the codex. So I'm starting this thread to ask those questions and get answers.

Power fists: The rule book says you need to have 2 of the same weapon to get the effect on your attacks.
-What about special characters? The only character I can think of that has more then one power fist is Clagar, but a lot of the characters have a power fist like Cantor, and Huron. So am I just paying for a power fist that I can't use in those cases? Same question for stuff like Thunderhammers and power weapons.

Be Sure to follow me on:


Maverike Prime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-11, 05:06 PM
Critique for da CriticGod
 
Kreuger's Avatar
Kreuger's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 3,350
Reputation: 43
Default

Well no you can opt to use the powerfist instead of the close combat weapon.

Though this should probably be in the rules forum.

Chaos Army Showcase with photos (Updated 2013/12/02)
"To endure one's self is perhaps the hardest task in the universe." Frank Herbert, 'Dune Messiah'
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dethklokk
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

Originally Posted by Deathscythe4722
Could someone please call the police on this guy? I can hear the English Language screaming in pain. This has to be illegal somewhere.
Kreuger is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-11, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Maverike Prime's Avatar
Maverike Prime's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 213
Reputation: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kreuger View Post
Well no you can opt to use the powerfist instead of the close combat weapon.

Though this should probably be in the rules forum.
Yeah I know, but I also know this will probably evolve into more of a general 40k discussion.

So I can choose weather I attack with 4 attacks or 1 Powerfist attack? Is that how it works?

Be Sure to follow me on:



Last edited by Maverike Prime; 03-04-11 at 05:23 PM.
Maverike Prime is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-11, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Baron Spikey's Avatar
Baron Spikey's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cheshire/Staffordshire
Posts: 5,934
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverike Prime View Post
Yeah I know, but I also know this will probably evolve into more of a general 40k discussion.

So I can choose weather I attack with 4 attacks or 1 Powerfist attack? Is that how it works?
No.

The reference to having 2 of the same weapon refers to gaining the +1 Attack for using 2 CCWs.

If you only have 1 powerfist/lightning claw/thunder hammer etc then you attack with that weapon with all your attacks (with a +1 for charging as well as any other special rules that increase your number of attacks) but don't get a +1 like you would with a power sword and bolt pistol, for example.
Baron Spikey is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-04-11, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Luisjoey's Avatar
Luisjoey's Flag is: Venezuela
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 375
Reputation: 1
Default

As Baron Spikey said and...

somebody with a power fist MUST USE IT in close combat (going at I1) but if you have power fist and power weapon you can choice.

the extra power fist grants you the extra attack, alone.

Visit http://calabozocriollo.foros.ws Venezuela Gaming Forum

Luisjoey is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-11, 12:17 AM
Senior Member
 
chromedog's Avatar
chromedog's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newcastle, OZ
Posts: 2,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverike Prime View Post
Power fists: The rule book says you need to have 2 of the same weapon to get the effect on your attacks.
You don't need two to get the effect of the weapon on your attacks. You need TWO of them to get the bonus +1A for two close combat weapons, but even with only one, you still get ALL of his CC attacks at Sx2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverike Prime View Post
-What about special characters? The only character I can think of that has more then one power fist is Clagar, but a lot of the characters have a power fist like Cantor, and Huron. So am I just paying for a power fist that I can't use in those cases? Same question for stuff like Thunderhammers and power weapons.
If they don't have paired pfs or hammers (or claws) then they don't get +1A. Calgar has both and thus gets +1A on top of his profile. The others don't. They ALL strike with Sx2, though (provided they do not use a different special ccw), regardless of how many attacks they have.

Hey! Where'd ... Everybody ... go?
chromedog is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-11, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Karak The Unfaithful's Avatar
Karak The Unfaithful's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Midlands, Great Britian
Posts: 1,480
Reputation: 1
Default

As I remember it you don't get the 1+ attack for the two close combat weapons because it says in the rulebook: "Only a second power fist, thunder hammer, lightning claw may confer an extra attack"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klomster View Post
Ok, doing good gentlemen.
(Except Karak, you are not really a gentleman, but more brutal.... a brutalman )
Karak The Unfaithful is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-05-11, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Let's try for a little condensed clarity.

If a model has a special close combat weapon, it must use it in hth. If it has two or more 'specials', it can choose which one to use with certain penalties. All attacks are resolved using the special weapon, barring other special rules such as the techmarine harness thingies.

Certain weapons, such as the power fist, require a second of the same weapon to gain the bonus attack for weilding two ccw. Others, such as a power weapon, can be combined with a regular ccw for the +1 bonus attack.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-15-11, 08:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Hive Fleet Thantos's Avatar
Hive Fleet Thantos's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 6
Reputation: 1
does instant death effect monstrous creatures

can anyone answer me this - does instant death effect monstrous creatures?
Hive Fleet Thantos is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-15-11, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
OpTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive Fleet Thantos View Post
can anyone answer me this - does instant death effect monstrous creatures?
yes


lalalalal
OpTi is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome