Shooting at a unit behind a unit that has gone to ground. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 07:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Golgothas's Avatar
Golgothas's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 96
Reputation: 1
Default Shooting at a unit behind a unit that has gone to ground.

Let us say you have four units, two units which belong to play A, Units 1 and 2, and two which belong to player B, units 9 and 0.

It is Player A's turn, and it is his shooting phase.

His two units are side by side, whereas Player B's units are one behind the other (for our example here, assume Unit 0 is behind Unit 9)

Player A's two units both have line of sight to Unit 9, and they can still see Unit 0, but Unit 0 would be granted a cover save because Unit 9 obscures them.

However, Unit 1 is a unit with some kind of pinning weapon, be it a barrage weapon or a sniper or what have you. Whatever it is, it causes a pinning test. It fires first on Unit 9.

Unit 9 is forced to take a pinning test. It fails. They go to ground.

Is Unit 0 still obscured?



Adopt a daemon today. Support the Heresy!
https://www.heresy-online.net/daemons/index.php
Golgothas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
reasnd's Avatar
reasnd's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 246
Reputation: 1
Default

My understanding is that cover and obscured are resolved on TLoS. So it doesn't matter if a unit in front is pinned.

Last edited by reasnd; 02-23-11 at 08:29 PM. Reason: correct the gramma
reasnd is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyklown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 1
Default

Exactly. Going to ground doesn't effect LoS at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethis View Post
I'm probably going to follow my usual Eldar tactic of driving around the table "circling and screaming 'I don't give a fuck' with my windows down and system up" and avoiding anything that looks scary.
Her(?) name may be slightly inapropriate, but she just needs love! And I just need to eat your face!
Cyklown is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

No position change is required when gone to ground. So, yes, they still provide cover saves.
Creon is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome