Storm Raven Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-11, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TattooedGreenMan's Avatar
TattooedGreenMan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Posts: 927
Reputation: 1
Storm Raven Question

I came across a sticky wicket today while playing a Tau player. I was informed that skimmers can not land. At all! The storm raven is modeled so that you can have landing gear but they do not list it in their wargear. Can a storm raven land? I was planning on putting it behind cover for the first turn and them jump out of cover to shoot something. What is ya'll pull on the situation? Comments very much welcome. If the bird can't land that makes me rethink my storm raven strategy.

Please level my Daemons I want them to grow up and be fierce.
TattooedGreenMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-11, 07:16 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

The only way it can "Land" is if it is immobilized. Other than that it must stay on its flying base.

Edit:
I modeled mine without the landing gear, it got immobilized and I had to lay my Thunder Guppy on its ass. The gear is nice for that I guess.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-11, 07:16 PM
Imperial Major
 
Daniel Harper's Avatar
Daniel Harper's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 383
Reputation: 2
Default

A skimmer must always be mounted on a flying base unless immobilized. At least I think that's right.

Edit: Ninja outta nowhere

Daniel Harper is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-11, 07:19 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Harper View Post
A skimmer must always be mounted on a flying base unless immobilized. At least I think that's right.

Edit: Ninja outta nowhere
I spent 3 years in Japan ... I am an expert Ninja when required.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-11, 11:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TattooedGreenMan's Avatar
TattooedGreenMan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Posts: 927
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks for the imput guys. We have been debating this all day. One more stormraven question. What is considered hull when resolving ordinance on a stormraven. A Chaos vindi shot my storm raven today and we were discussing weather wings are considered hull or not when under the hole.

Please level my Daemons I want them to grow up and be fierce.
TattooedGreenMan is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 12:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyklown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,054
Reputation: 1
Default

The wings are counted, odds are. Valks and falcs would be fucking stupid if you didn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethis View Post
I'm probably going to follow my usual Eldar tactic of driving around the table "circling and screaming 'I don't give a fuck' with my windows down and system up" and avoiding anything that looks scary.
Her(?) name may be slightly inapropriate, but she just needs love! And I just need to eat your face!
Cyklown is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 02:10 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

This is the thread I started about that as I was unsure myself.

What is the hull on a vehicle?
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 03:25 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

For a BRB reference check out the last sentence in the left-hand column on pg 71.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 03:36 AM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TattooedGreenMan View Post
I came across a sticky wicket today while playing a Tau player. I was informed that skimmers can not land. At all! The storm raven is modeled so that you can have landing gear but they do not list it in their wargear. Can a storm raven land? I was planning on putting it behind cover for the first turn and them jump out of cover to shoot something. What is ya'll pull on the situation? Comments very much welcome. If the bird can't land that makes me rethink my storm raven strategy.
But when you say "Land" do you mean regarding troops disembarking? Because realistically it would land to let people out, but this is 40k.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-23-11, 03:44 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

He means, take it off the base and place the model on the table. For easier cover.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome