Chain axe - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 02:15 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
damon62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1
Chain axe

I can't see anywhere. Is a chain ax, as far as points, count as a chainfist??
damon62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 02:22 AM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

not at all, a Chain-axe is just a close combat weapon, used only by Khorne Berzerkers, it follows all the normal rules for Close combat Weapons, if your looking at the last Chaos space Marine codex however, it does have different rules altogether. (Modifying armour saves of the opponent)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 02:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Flindo's Avatar
Flindo's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

I beleive its the same as a chainsword.

Warhammer:Skaven 9000 points, Lizardmen 1250 points
Warmachine:Dwarves 261 points, Trolls 125 points Gatormen 174 points
Malifaux: Gremlins 100 Soul Stones
Infinity: Morats 1400 points, Shasvastii 600 points
Flindo is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 02:37 AM
Eastern Potent
 
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Avatar
Lord Sven Kittyclaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Reputation: 1
Default

Which is also a close combat weapon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
I'll update from Prisoner Cell Block Nerd when they extradite me.
Lord Sven Kittyclaw is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 02:48 AM
Senior Member
 
johnnymajic's Avatar
johnnymajic's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 377
Reputation: 1
Default

In the old codex and with the 4th ed rules, a chain axe counted as a heavy close combat weapon. This meant that any save made against one was 4+, regardless of what the previous save was. Correct me if I'm wrong, it's been a while since 4th ed
johnnymajic is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 03:37 AM
Senior Member
 
WinZip's Avatar
WinZip's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Stayton, OR
Posts: 667
Reputation: 1
Default

ChainSwords and ChainAxes are the same thing (except obviously one is a sword the other an axe) they are treated as normal close combat weapons as Lord Sven Kittyclaw has already said. In the CSM codex it states that ChainAxes are treat as a normal combat weapon.


"Blood cries out to blood they say, so let us spill their blood so we can hear it all the clearer."
WinZip is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 03:49 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
damon62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you all for your replies.
damon62 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymajic View Post
In the old codex and with the 4th ed rules, a chain axe counted as a heavy close combat weapon. This meant that any save made against one was 4+, regardless of what the previous save was. Correct me if I'm wrong, it's been a while since 4th ed
It made any save that was BETTER than 4+ into a 4+.
Ork Choppas did that too.
Winterous is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-11, 09:31 AM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
It made any save that was BETTER than 4+ into a 4+.
Ork Choppas did that too.
Correct.

Currently, they are just a CCW.

Thread moved to Rules Discussion


KingOfCheese is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-13-11, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Karak The Unfaithful's Avatar
Karak The Unfaithful's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Midlands, Great Britian
Posts: 1,480
Reputation: 1
Default

Well a chain axe (or chain sword) is just a normal close combat weapon (unless it states otherwise for a special character or something) Basicly: Unless it mentions it, it doesn't happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klomster View Post
Ok, doing good gentlemen.
(Except Karak, you are not really a gentleman, but more brutal.... a brutalman )
Karak The Unfaithful is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome