Multiple officer's of the fleet - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
The Great Unclean One
 
Razagel's Avatar
Razagel's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Netherland
Posts: 57
Reputation: 1
Default Multiple officer's of the fleet

Hello fellow heretics, I have a question

If I where to use 2 company command squads in my army and I would each give them a officer of the fleet, does the penalty to reserves stack ?

Likewise would 2 astropath's give me a total of +2 ?

Thanx in advanve

-Raz-



Dyslectic Satanists sell there soul to Santa
Razagel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
fynn's Avatar
fynn's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 2,021
Reputation: 1
Default

If i remember rightly, it was in the IG faq, and they dont stack, but will need to double check the FAQ

fynn is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaden's Avatar
Zaden's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rocky View, AB
Posts: 803
Reputation: 1
Default

From the Errata:

"Q. If you take two Astropaths or two Officers of
the Fleet, do their +1/-1 to reserve rolls stack?

A. No. The advantage of having multiples of these
Regimental Advisors is that you can still gain the
benefit of the Telepathic Relay/Intercept Reserves
rules should one Astropath/Officer of the Fleet be
killed. The confusion created by having so many
advisors simultaneously vying for a Commander’s
attention negates any potential benefit."


Click to feed! =)
Zaden is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyleune's Avatar
Cyleune's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 330
Reputation: 1
Default

Well whats so different between the Officers and Autarchs then? Why do Autarchs get the stack but not Officers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azezel View Post
Safety warnings in the Imperium would be... Less than helpful.

Caution! Failure to appease the Machine Spirit may cause it to grow wrathful!

Extreme Danger: Recite the Litany of the Somnolent Inferno before firing.

Reminder: The Adeptus Mechanicus reminds you that this weapon is both sacred and more valuable than your entire platoon.

Important! Death in service to the Emperor is its own reward.

Yep, that's really useful
Cyleune is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 10:26 PM
blahblahblahblah
 
Stella Cadente's Avatar
Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: blahblahblahblah
Posts: 6,663
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyleune View Post
Well whats so different between the Officers and Autarchs then? Why do Autarchs get the stack but not Officers?
because the autarchs are covered by an eldar dex/FAQ while guard are covered by a guard dex/FAQ, thats the difference, there is no proper reason, other than if one daes and one doesn't, then that is how it is

Stella Cadente is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyleune's Avatar
Cyleune's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 330
Reputation: 1
Default

But the fluff behind it makes no sense, if the advantage of the Officers is negated by them bickering for attention, wouldn't 2 Autarchs also be arguin for control of the troops?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azezel View Post
Safety warnings in the Imperium would be... Less than helpful.

Caution! Failure to appease the Machine Spirit may cause it to grow wrathful!

Extreme Danger: Recite the Litany of the Somnolent Inferno before firing.

Reminder: The Adeptus Mechanicus reminds you that this weapon is both sacred and more valuable than your entire platoon.

Important! Death in service to the Emperor is its own reward.

Yep, that's really useful
Cyleune is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 10:46 PM
blahblahblahblah
 
Stella Cadente's Avatar
Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: blahblahblahblah
Posts: 6,663
Reputation: 10
Default

maybe, in the fluff, for all I know autarchs may be more co-operative, or they might kill each other cus there bitches, I dunno, but thats fluff not game

Stella Cadente is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyleune's Avatar
Cyleune's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 330
Reputation: 1
Default

So then whats the difference in game? Autarchs give +1 to reserve rolls and they stack, Officers do same thing (with addition of -1 to opponent) but don't stack. Why???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azezel View Post
Safety warnings in the Imperium would be... Less than helpful.

Caution! Failure to appease the Machine Spirit may cause it to grow wrathful!

Extreme Danger: Recite the Litany of the Somnolent Inferno before firing.

Reminder: The Adeptus Mechanicus reminds you that this weapon is both sacred and more valuable than your entire platoon.

Important! Death in service to the Emperor is its own reward.

Yep, that's really useful
Cyleune is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 11:07 PM
blahblahblahblah
 
Stella Cadente's Avatar
Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: blahblahblahblah
Posts: 6,663
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyleune View Post
So then whats the difference in game? Autarchs give +1 to reserve rolls and they stack, Officers do same thing (with addition of -1 to opponent) but don't stack. Why???
because thats how it is, not everything is equal I'm afraid.

Stella Cadente is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-22-11, 11:13 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

They just don't stack.

There is no fluff reason why one is allowed and one isn't.
Its just how it is, and its not going to change.

Get used to inconsistencies in GW FAQ's, its a common thing.
Just ask Tyranid players with their Shadow In The Warp and Mycetic Spores, they got boned far worse than IG did.

Live with it.


KingOfCheese is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome