Leman Russ Battle Tank Sponson Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hardluck57's Avatar
hardluck57's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 403
Reputation: 1
Icon Leman Russ Battle Tank Sponson Question

My question is regarding the rules as listed in the codex vs what comes up when I use Lone Wolf's Army Builder.

The actual text says "A pair of sponsons ... x points"

When I use it in AB it charges me 2x. My issue is that since the Codex says "a pair" that means that two sponsons, hence pair, would cost X points, not that each sponson of a pair of sponson costs x points and thus 2x points total.

So, if I wanted Plasma Sponsons and the book charges 2 points for a pair, as written, why does AB charge me 4, effectively making me pay twice? Perhaps it is just the difference between British English and American English and it may be my background from M:TG which causes me to read into everything. Just wanted to make sure so that I'm not wasting points.
hardluck57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 03:19 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

The cost in the codex is correct. Sounds like an AB glitch.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bishop5's Avatar
bishop5's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 2
Default

It is an AB glitch - use the codex for the points values.

Tactica: Infantry Platoons
Quote:
Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch.
Orson Welles
Forum Rules
bishop5 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 04:49 PM
blahblahblahblah
 
Stella Cadente's Avatar
Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: blahblahblahblah
Posts: 6,663
Reputation: 10
Default

army builder being wrong?!?!, No way, not again!

Stella Cadente is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 04:52 PM
Unfinished Project King
 
Midge913's Avatar
Midge913's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 7,409
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella Cadente View Post
army builder being wrong?!?!, No way, not again!
Dear God say it isn't so! You are just going to need to wait for the next patch, or make sure that you have the current one. AB is wrong frequently.

Commissions, Project Logs, and Galleries
Follow me on Twitter: @MidgesWorkshop. You can aslo follow me on face book Here
Midge913 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hardluck57's Avatar
hardluck57's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 403
Reputation: 1
Default

Well, it's been wrong as long as I've been using it to build my Imperial Guard armies. I played a game with a friend the other night and when I added up his cost I accused him of cheating me out of 100 points, or two more destroyers for me, when he told me he added them up as per the codex.

This isn't the first time I've had this question and I never did have a satisfactory answer. Thanks to all for answering with how they add their points. Now I feel like less of a rules nazi.
hardluck57 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-11, 05:25 PM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardluck57 View Post
Well, it's been wrong as long as I've been using it to build my Imperial Guard armies. I played a game with a friend the other night and when I added up his cost I accused him of cheating me out of 100 points, or two more destroyers for me, when he told me he added them up as per the codex.

This isn't the first time I've had this question and I never did have a satisfactory answer. Thanks to all for answering with how they add their points. Now I feel like less of a rules nazi.
It's a shame, but I find these issues seem to be common with AB. One of the reasons I have never (and will never) paid for the software.

I recommend working armies out on paper first, and porting them into AB for ease of readability when playing players you are not a friend with outside of your LGS.
TheKingElessar is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome