flat out and shooting - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Maugoth's Avatar
Maugoth's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 387
Reputation: 1
Default flat out and shooting

Game turn 1:
Player A moves flat out with a skimmer

Player B hits and immobalised the vehicle it fails it's 4+ cover save from going flatout

Is the skimmer destroyed?

i seem to recall seeing it somewhere but it came up in a game today and i couldn't find it in the brb, i have a feeling i might have been mixing up 5e and a previous edition of the rules, so i figured i would ask you guys

Maugoth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 127
Reputation: 1
Default

If skimmers are immobolized while going flat out then they are counted as wrecked.
Pg 71 of the rule book .
Under the section Shooting at Skimmers.
Specifically says "so a skimmer that is immobilised immediately crashes and is destroyed (wrecked) if it moved flat out in its last turn. If it moved slower, it suffers an immobilised result as normal. "
Goat is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bishop5's Avatar
bishop5's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 2
Default

Goat has it right, immobilised = destroyed for skimmers moving flat out.

Tactica: Infantry Platoons
Quote:
Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch.
Orson Welles
Forum Rules
bishop5 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

it crashes and burns.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-02-11, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
chromedog's Avatar
chromedog's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, OZ
Posts: 2,410
Default

Normally, yes, skimmers that move flat out and that receive an 'immobilised' damage result are wrecked.
Only exception is "vectored engines" for Eldar (which counts the vehicle as going at a slower speed band to avoid the wrecked result).

Hey! Where'd ... Everybody ... go?
chromedog is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-03-11, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Maugoth's Avatar
Maugoth's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 387
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goat View Post
If skimmers are immobolized while going flat out then they are counted as wrecked.
Pg 71 of the rule book .
Under the section Shooting at Skimmers.
Specifically says "so a skimmer that is immobilised immediately crashes and is destroyed (wrecked) if it moved flat out in its last turn. If it moved slower, it suffers an immobilised result as normal. "
awesome thanks for the page ref +rep for you

thanks to everyone else that replyed too

Maugoth is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-03-11, 03:03 PM
Painter in training
 
Drannith's Avatar
Drannith's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 357
Reputation: 1
Default

also note that if there were units embarked in the skimmer they are destroyed as well since you can't disembark them since you went flat out.

Can re-roll re-rolls
Drannith is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-03-11, 06:06 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drannith View Post
also note that if there were units embarked in the skimmer they are destroyed as well since you can't disembark them since you went flat out.
This is a common misconception. The vehicle must be destroyed and move Flat Out in the same Player Turn to kill off all the passengers, not just in the same Game Turn.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-03-11, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jaws900's Avatar
jaws900's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 1
Default

so if your destoy, wreak or immobilise your self from terrain or friendly fire you lose all your men. Other wise if your falcon or what even crashes your guys get our and take a pinning test as normal

"Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway."

People i have turned into Chaos Spawn
Marneus Calgar
Pedro Kantor
Terminator Chaplin
Terminator Apothecary
jaws900 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-07-11, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Pssyche's Avatar
Pssyche's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 4
Default

"Normally, yes, skimmers that move flat out and that receive an 'immobilised' damage result are wrecked.
Only exception is "vectored engines" for Eldar (which counts the vehicle as going at a slower speed band to avoid the wrecked result)."

I just looked up the Vectored Engine Vehicle Upgrade (Codex Eldar P. 44)

It says "If the vehicle would crash due to being immobilised, it instead makes a forced landing as if it had not moved that turn"

Okay. So the Falcon lands. It can now be assaulted as a stationary model with automatic hits.
But, should it survive, is it then free to move unimpeded in its next movement phase?

Though I take your life, I promise you the stars...
Pssyche is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome