Is this true? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default Is this true?

I was having a little look at the grey knight codex wondering why no one uses them when I noticed that grey knight terminators get an extra attack for terminator armour and since they may take TH/SH combo it means they get that free extra attacks so anyone who has them has for a regular squad 20 power fist attacks with 3+ invul is this true?


Also can 4 grey knight terminator's and the Justicar ride in a chimera?


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines

Last edited by aboytervigon; 12-25-10 at 09:20 PM.
aboytervigon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Maugoth's Avatar
Maugoth's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 387
Reputation: 1
Default

I don't have the codex but i believe the grey knight terminators are pretty pricey if i remember right 46 points each? i am probs wrong but i remember them being alot of points and taking away thier Nemisis weapon makes them worst value for money because in thier codex the storm shield is a 4+ inv in combat only

I believe no one well very few people use grey knights in general because it is an outdated codex and they are very expensive for what you get, so you end up with a very small bad army, hopefully the new dex will be out soon then i bet they will rock

Maugoth is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 09:49 PM
Unforgiven
 
gally912's Avatar
gally912's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 689
Reputation: 1
Default

A) Terminator Armor bonus attack is always already included in the profile. This is specifically stated in their entry, the last of their special rules.
B) They use the old Storm-shield entry, which gives them a 4+ Inv save in Close-combat only.
C) No.

In the Grim Darkness of the Far Future, there is no Common Sense.
gally912 is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

A) they have enough attacks already
B) aaaaaaw
C) can you please tell me where it says this


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
The Sullen One's Avatar
The Sullen One's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Republic of Wigan
Posts: 2,242
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aboytervigon View Post
C) can you please tell me where it says this
I'm not sure it does, but the thinking here is that since Rhinos can't take Terminators, Chimeras wouldn't be able to either.

Further more given a Terminator's armour save I don't think you'd be able to get away with saying a Chimera was open topped, so if you want a transport for them it'll probably have to be a Land Raider.

My painting log - Misadventures of a Cack-Handed Painter: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=93419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gochu85
I am enjoying all of your articles. Thank you for your help. I hope I can use your tactics along with what I learn from experience to strike fear of green in to my enemies hearts.
The Sullen One is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

I had a plan

1) drive up
2) get shaken
3) get wrecked
4) assault
5) win


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
HOBO's Avatar
HOBO's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,407
Reputation: 1
Default

You might want to check if your regular gaming community even allows the DH Codex 'book' to be used now...many people use the newer 'pdf' DH Codex as they say it has superceded the Codex.
HOBO is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
fynn's Avatar
fynn's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 2,021
Reputation: 1
Default

dont forget, that GW did state that the origional paper version is still legal, so you can still use the origional in all its glory and allies.

fynn is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 11:18 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

The "Codex" version still takes preference over the "PDF" version, although a majority of people will actually use the PDF version instead due to its availability.

Most tournaments will use the Codex version in preference to the PDF version, although it will depend on the tournament organizers decision.
If you are wanting to go to a tournament with Daemonhunters, then i would highly recommend contacting the tournament organizer to confirm exactly which version will be used.

EDIT: Just realized it was aboytervigon that posted the thread.
So its Daemonhunters this week?
Hmmm... im guessing perhaps Dark Angels will be the army of choice next week.



Last edited by KingOfCheese; 12-25-10 at 11:21 PM.
KingOfCheese is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-25-10, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

Im not starting daemon hunters I was looking into allies for my small imperial guard force it actually says it horde army's of 40k which includes
Orks
tyranids
imperial guard


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome