Is this true? - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

But what if I buy the unit in codex imperial guard it then doesn't have that special rule so it can transport GKT's?


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 02:13 PM
Moderator
 
KingOfCheese's Avatar
KingOfCheese's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 4,491
Reputation: 1
Default

As far as i know, yes you can put GKT's in a Daemonhunters version of the Chimera as a dedicated transport.
But you can not put them inside an Imperial Guard Chimera, due to the paragraph on page 30 of the Daemonhunters codex.

EDIT: Actually, they dont even have the option to take the Deamonhunters version of the Chimera anyway.
Looks like its not even possible anyway.



Last edited by KingOfCheese; 12-26-10 at 02:16 PM.
KingOfCheese is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-26-10, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOBO View Post
I know the 'legal' standpoint and I still use the 'proper' Codex myself, but in the big bad wide world there is a lot of debate going on about what has precedent - the book or the pdf. Some Tournaments are going by the pdf, others say the book, and the same goes for individual opponents who want to play the badass and deny the Codex and/or the pdf depending on what suits their own lists.

GW stuffed up when they basically said 'decide for yourself which one you use and come to an agreement with your opponent'.
They also said that the pdf does not supersede the codex:
"The other point that seems to be causing the most confusion is whether or not the PDF versions supersede the printed versions. They don't: you should feel free to continue to use whatever resources you have available to play your games with; the PDF does not overrule or invalidate the printed Codex book. " Don't see how there can be any argument given that particular statement.

As for needing allies, no, but it is nice to have some access to a psychic hood.

To ABT. DH units cannot share their own dedicated tranports, they are the only army that this still applies to. Yes, if you take an IG platoon and give it chimeras, then the DH units can use the IG transports. And yes, termies can ride in chimeras, they just take up two spaces.

However, as the others have said, allies are supposedly going away. Someday. Probably someday soon. So don't get too attached to the idea.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome