counter attack & tank shock - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-08, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 153
Default counter attack & tank shock

Tank shock:
In the last game i played I tank shocked my opponent's marine squad successfully killing the leader trying to death-or-glory. So the unit gave way -- my opponent moved his models in a large curve around the path of my vehicle. Some were in front, and some he pushed off to the side, giving them all nearly 2" between each other. The end result was the squad had become a foot long curve with near max 2" between each model.
Since tank shock says "they must be moved out of the way by the SHORTEST distance" doesn't this rule out being able to move some people in front of the skimmer, some to the side, some still behind it, spaced out so much? The whole goal of my tank shock was to achieve some clumping-up.


Counter Attack:
So I have my opponent's marine squad (Bloodclaws with counter attack) sandwiched between a unit of Harlequins and a unit of Howling Banshees (yes fun). I want to hit them with both harlequins and banshees in the same assault, so I moved banshees forward not even 2" before my opponent charges the Marines at them in counter-attack, taking them out of charge range of my harlequins. Is this correct?
Furthermore if this is correct, pretend that my harlequins are still in charge range, and charge the backsides of the counter-attacking marines. Are they still subject to counterattack (i.e. losing the attack for charging)? Intuitively I would think No because a unit can't countercharge in two directions.

thanks in advance guys
Absolute035 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-08, 06:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 282
Default

yes the 2nd one is correct.

but you don't loose your attack bonus for charging

conuter attack = acrobatics for banchees
FarseerNo3 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-08, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

well, to the first one, you have to move your entire squad to 1 side of the vehicle. all og them in a pile..


on the second .....you move all your charging units first,(harlys and banshees) then after you are done, he can move those not in base contact, up to 6" to get them all in BTB, he does not get the bonus for charging tho..


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-08, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogg View Post
well, to the first one, you have to move your entire squad to 1 side of the vehicle. all og them in a pile..


on the second .....you move all your charging units first,(harlys and banshees) then after you are done, he can move those not in base contact, up to 6" to get them all in BTB, he does not get the bonus for charging tho..
Tank shock: So tank shocking should force the squad to move off to the side of the tank, and each model will move as little as it can to get out of the way, resulting in a clump.

Counter attack: this is what i had thought, i move all my units that want to assault in B2B first and THEN his unengaged models can counterattack. My opponent however, used the rule to shove his squad out of charge range of my harlequins, saying he gets to move them "in response" to me moving my banshees first.

Counterattacking models get no charge bonus, and my units charging them still do. Well that fight would have went even better for me if i had known this. Thanks all.
Absolute035 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-08, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

hmm, didnt he fail his Death or Glory?, they should be running i think, and if they are 6" to the vehicle, they keep running, so escort them out of the table....You win!

Not to sure about that 1, tho, cause I never tank shock,


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-27-08, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

if he doe a death or glory it means he passed his ld test so he does not run, but you need to move the models to a safe place the SHORTEST DISTANCE POSSIBLE.

so there may be a time when the models will surround the vehicle

exxample, you tank shock a large unit of orcs, they are fearless so they don't run, but you will drive your tank into the middle of them, and they will shuffel to either side, which ever is closest.

note that it is possible to sometimes breakup squad coherancy by tank shocking.
Nykster is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-27-08, 02:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 153
Default

it was my intention to move my vehicle in such a way as to clump his entire squad off to the side. Because I was about to hit them with a 6-3 template from my fireprisms.
Absolute035 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome