Abaddon's Daemon Weapon - Page 8 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #71 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Pestilice's Avatar
Lord Pestilice's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FT Benning, GA
Posts: 185
Reputation: 1
Default

Debate Solved:
White Dwarf 363 page 66 paragraph 5 in the battle report between BA and Chaos Marines.
"Abbadon's Daemon Weapon rebelled against his control and struck its master, although his invulnerable save protected him from harm."
Lord Pestilice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Pestilice View Post
Debate Solved:
White Dwarf 363 page 66 paragraph 5 in the battle report between BA and Chaos Marines.
"Abbadon's Daemon Weapon rebelled against his control and struck its master, although his invulnerable save protected him from harm."
Unreliable source of rules clarity, but let's just go with it.
Winterous is offline  
post #73 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Pestilice's Avatar
Lord Pestilice's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FT Benning, GA
Posts: 185
Reputation: 1
Default

Well if that is how the GW team plays it I don't see how we as a community can say, "This is not how it is played because the rules don't specifically state it that way!!"

Last edited by Lord Pestilice; 11-20-10 at 02:20 AM.
Lord Pestilice is offline  
 
post #74 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
Well That Was Unexpected
 
D-A-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Pestilice View Post
Debate Solved:
White Dwarf 363 page 66 paragraph 5 in the battle report between BA and Chaos Marines.
"Abbadon's Daemon Weapon rebelled against his control and struck its master, although his invulnerable save protected him from harm."
I'll admit that at times I have been condescending about the counter arguments I have recieved, as 'it's a reminder' or 'not liking the font'. But the day that I take the word of a White Dwarf battle report will be a sorry day indeed lol. Those things are so rigged that I wouldn't even consider them as the last word on any issue; have you seen the army lists they use? Not to mention the fact that the new release army always wins.

In saying that, thanks for taking the time to read up on that, so +rep for you.
D-A-C is offline  
post #75 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Pestilice's Avatar
Lord Pestilice's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FT Benning, GA
Posts: 185
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-A-C View Post
Not to mention the fact that the new release army always wins.
I imagine that they actually run several battles and publish one with winning results for the new army to make it more appealing to the consumer.

Please reserve Red font for Mods only... thank you!

-DK

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 11-20-10 at 06:12 AM.
Lord Pestilice is offline  
post #76 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 02:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Regardless of HOW they do it, they're rigged.
Winterous is offline  
post #77 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
XxDreMisterxX's Avatar
XxDreMisterxX's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On Khornes pile of SKullz
Posts: 716
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Wait...wouldn't that make Abby overpriced?
Ah. thx for the clarification Deathklokk. lol mistaken word usage. Its a constant thorn in my grammatical thinking.


"Imagination is for turbo-nerds who canít handle how kick-butt reality isÖ I am a kick-butt reality master! I would rather die than be imaginative."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commissar Ploss View Post
i'm quite proud of this statement of mine, and i doubt it'll ever be quoted: "This is Heresy-Online, not Fluffy-Bunny Online." yep, that's a good'un. write that down folks.
XxDreMisterxX is offline  
post #78 of 176 (permalink) Old 11-20-10, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Maugoth's Avatar
Maugoth's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 387
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Pestilice View Post
[COLOR=blue]I imagine that they actually run several battles and publish one with winning results for the new army to make it more appealing to the consumer.
that's what they do, they play several fights then use bits of each of them to make an exciting battle report for the new army to wow the customer into thinking the new army is so broken that they rush out and buy some, so what you read is not actually a full report from just one fight from start to finish but several bits of different battles stuck together

Maugoth is offline  
post #79 of 176 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
Well That Was Unexpected
 
D-A-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 2
Default

This counts as Necromancy ... but damn I was right!!!

I read back through all these arguments and I'm telling you, my interpretation of this rule made the most sense.

1. He controls the Daemon Weapon in the old Codex.

2. He is 275pts.

3. He controls the Daemon Weapon in the fluff.

4 The ruling states '+d6 Attacks' a roll of 1 is still a +Attack.

Its just logical.
D-A-C is offline  
post #80 of 176 (permalink) Old 06-16-11, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Is there a new ruling on this we're not aware of?

No new FAQ anyway. Roll a 1 and his Daemon Weapon still hits him.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome