Couple of easy questions. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-10, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crimzzen's Avatar
Crimzzen's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,645
Reputation: 3
Default Couple of easy questions.

Hey heresy, just a couple of clarifications.

How far could you drive a regular rhino and use a psychic ability. How about a shooting psychic ability?

Can you use a force weapon in your opponents turn if you cast a psychic ability during your turn?

Thanks,

Allouttabubblegum? - 40K Blog - contains batreps, tactics, and all my work including past and present! Sign up today!
Crimzzen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-10, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

oi think its any distance for normal phsycic abilitys and for shotting atatcks its as far as you can normaly move and shoot with a normal ranged weapon

as for the force staff thing, you can only do it if you can cast more the one power per turn

IE: you can cast two powers per turn, you cast a shooting power then charge, you can then use your force weapons because you still have a phsycic power left to cast that turn

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Boz View Post
Don't do it. If you find yourself thinking "Gee, I wish I had a Power Fist right about now" while playing IG, you did something wrong.
Flame80010 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-10, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimzzen View Post
Hey heresy, just a couple of clarifications.

How far could you drive a regular rhino and use a psychic ability. How about a shooting psychic ability?

Can you use a force weapon in your opponents turn if you cast a psychic ability during your turn?

Thanks,
1) any distance if its a non-shooting power. 6" if it's a shooting power, as it counts as shooting a weapon.

2) yes. You may use 1 psychic power per turn. In the beginning of the book (forget page no.), it explains that "turn" means "player turn", except where specified. So you get one power per player turn, which means one power in both your turn and your opponents turn.

Hope that helps

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-10, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crimzzen's Avatar
Crimzzen's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,645
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame80010 View Post
oi think its any distance for normal phsycic abilitys and for shotting atatcks its as far as you can normaly move and shoot with a normal ranged weapon

as for the force staff thing, you can only do it if you can cast more the one power per turn

IE: you can cast two powers per turn, you cast a shooting power then charge, you can then use your force weapons because you still have a phsycic power left to cast that turn
I figured as much for the psychic abilities.

For the staff, what I mean was; what if its now their turn. I used a psychic ability on my turn, can I force weapon now that its their turn?

Allouttabubblegum? - 40K Blog - contains batreps, tactics, and all my work including past and present! Sign up today!
Crimzzen is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-04-10, 11:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

dam you lysdexia (lol xD)


mad got it right as far as i know

turn means player turn not game turn (unless it says game turn :o)

you can also cast some other powers in your enemys turn (IE Warptime for chaos) when if you casted them inm your turn

so yay for you :3

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Boz View Post
Don't do it. If you find yourself thinking "Gee, I wish I had a Power Fist right about now" while playing IG, you did something wrong.
Flame80010 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-10, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
jaws900's Avatar
jaws900's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimzzen View Post
How far could you drive a regular rhino and use a psychic ability. How about a shooting psychic ability?

Can you use a force weapon in your opponents turn if you cast a psychic ability during your turn?
1 -Dempnds on the type of ability. Yolu can use any psychic power that isn't a shooting attack from within a rhino or toehr tank (unless otherwise stated). Shooting psychic attacks have the normal shooting rules fo you can move 6" a shoot upto 2 shoots out of the rhinos hatch or 12" if it's Fast (like the Blood Angles one)

2 - You can use upto X powers per turn. This is only that turn as with rules like Furious charge. It means that yes you can use your force weapon as well as some psychic powers which allow this such as Might of the Anciants and Sanguine Shield which speciafically say they can be used turing your oppoents turn.

"Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway."

People i have turned into Chaos Spawn
Marneus Calgar
Pedro Kantor
Terminator Chaplin
Terminator Apothecary
jaws900 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-10, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Grinnsira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,028
Reputation: 1
Default

ok now I have a question. I have a farseer with spirit stones. On my turn I cast mindwar and guide. Does that mean on his turn I can cast fortune and Doom?

or On my turn I cast mindwar and guide and thats it until my next turn?

If I only cast one ability on my turn can I cast one on his thats not a shooting ability?
Grinnsira is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-10, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

You can only cast the Eldar Power on your own turn.

Aramoro
Aramoro is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-05-10, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

Armoro is correct on this one. Check the rules for Eldar psychic powers - they are used at the start of the Eldar turn, unless otherwise specified - that means no casting in the opponents turn.

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-07-10, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaws900 View Post
1 -Dempnds on the type of ability. Yolu can use any psychic power that isn't a shooting attack from within a rhino or toehr tank (unless otherwise stated). Shooting psychic attacks have the normal shooting rules fo you can move 6" a shoot upto 2 shoots out of the rhinos hatch or 12" if it's Fast (like the Blood Angles one)
No, any movement over 6" prevents an embarked unit from shooting. Doesn't matter if the vehicle is fast or not, an embarked unit still may not shoot if the vehicle moves more than 6". The fact that the vehicle is able to shoot when it moves over 6" has no bearing on whether or not the embarked unit can fire.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome