scarabs and turbo boosting - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default scarabs and turbo boosting

I was at gw playing with my necrons and doing my necron tactic turbo of boosting scarabs letting them soak up shots but a staff member says that I don't get my 2+ cover just a 5+ invulnerable. I look it up and it says I get the 3+ cover and with my stealth its 2+ but he says no,(looks at the book) ok they get a 3+ cover. what about stealth I say. He says they dont get stealth since there not in cover.

can you resolve this


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines

Last edited by aboytervigon; 09-26-10 at 08:02 PM.
aboytervigon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aboytervigon View Post
i was at gw playing with my necrons and doing my necron tactic turbo boosting#
scarabs letting them soak up shots but a staff member says that i dont get my 2+ cover just a 5+ invulnerable i look it up and it says i get the 3+ cover and with my stealth its 2+ but he says no (looks at the book) ok they get a 3+ cover but what about stealth i say he says they dont get stealth since there not in cover

can you resolve this
Scarabs get a 2+ cover save from a turbo boost. Turbo = 3+ cover, stealth improves all cover saves by 1, making it 2+. You got screwed.

By the way: please could you help everyone by using punctuation? This is an English Language forum, your deviations are starting to stretch that to the limit.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

KK can you prove it this guy is really stubborn and wont let me use this rule until I get absolute proof.


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Page 76 of the BRB. See the rule for Turbo Boost: it grants a 3+ cover save. Then go to page 19 of the Necron codex, Scarabs are a small targets and gain a +1 bonus to all cover saves.

A 4+ cover save would, therefore, become 3+.
A 3+ cover save would become 2+.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aboytervigon View Post
KK can you prove it this guy is really stubborn and wont let me use this rule until I get absolute proof.
Show the guy the Big Rule Book page 53 and 77 and the Necron Codex. The rules are stated there. If the guy continues to be stubborn, talk to other staff members or talk to the guy you are playing and clear stuff up in advance. If you and your opponent agree, nothing the staff member says will have any affect on it.

lokis222 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aboytervigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,736
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokis222 View Post
Show the guy the Big Rule Book page 53 and 77 and the Necron Codex. The rules are stated there. If the guy continues to be stubborn, talk to other staff members or talk to the guy you are playing and clear stuff up in advance. If you and your opponent agree, nothing the staff member says will have any affect on it.

I showed him but he still says I shouldn't of argued with him even though he started it. I asked another member but he said "if *beep* says you automaticely loose you do if , he says that your necrons don't get back up they don't. He gets last say".


My Deceiver is a shard of the true thing and yet has killed
Draigo
Lysander and countless marines
aboytervigon is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
SGMAlice's Avatar
SGMAlice's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ass End of Nowhere
Posts: 3,807
Reputation: 15
Default

Then your going to have to put it down to the guy being an asshole because he thinks he knows it all and move on.
You know your right and we know your right. Talk to your opponent and sort it out with her/him.

SGMAlice

PC/Laptop Problems? Post Here: Heresy Online's PC Hardware Help Thread
WIP Custom Chapter Fluff: The Children Of The Dragon
WIP Bio-Mechanical Tyranids: Hive Fleet Giger
SGMAlice is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SGMAlice View Post
Then your going to have to put it down to the guy being an asshole because he thinks he knows it all and move on.
You know your right and we know your right. Talk to your opponent and sort it out with her/him.

SGMAlice
Make rules with your opponent or find a new place to play. About your only two options. Some people like power and feel good when they abuse it.

lokis222 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 11:10 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

What GW is it, I'll call them. I'd be happy to explain how fucking sales staff aren't required to know what they are selling and are usually wrong. The whole "don't argue with me" attitude proves it. They have an attitude, you have a rulebook.

Seriously, PM me the store location, I'll call them.

Strange, but not a Stranger.

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 09-26-10 at 11:12 PM.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-10, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
LordWaffles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,926
Reputation: 2
Default

My favourite part of this thread is where Necrons got dicked.

They're so op.

I keep forgetting how hilarious my old posts are.

It's not a question of who will let me, it's a question of who will stop me.
You fight for nothing! You are nothing!
LordWaffles is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome