Assaulting tanks - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Steaknchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2
Default Assaulting tanks

Really need to clear this up since the two competative players at my local FGS contradict each other and both the their own advantage.

My unit assaults a tank and immobolises / stuns it. Said tank is now unable to move for a turn.

a) Can that unit attack the tank again in the opposing players turn since the tank hasnt moved and i'm still in combat with it

b)If i DO count as in combat with the immobolised tank can that unit

b1)Be shot at?

b2)Be lashed away?

Incoming fire has right of way.
W/L/D (2013)
Wood Elves - 1 / 0 / 0
Steaknchips is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
VanitusMalus's Avatar
VanitusMalus's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 795
Reputation: 1
Default

A) No you'll have to assault the tank again in your turn.

B) Fighting a vehicle in assault is not the same fighting units in assault. Eventhough said unit is assaulting the vehicle the unit can still be shot at, lashed away, or worse assaulted themselves.

However the vehicle since it was immobilized or stun will be automatically hit when the unit assaults it again.
VanitusMalus is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
OpTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steaknchips View Post
Really need to clear this up since the two competative players at my local FGS contradict each other and both the their own advantage.

My unit assaults a tank and immobolises / stuns it. Said tank is now unable to move for a turn.

a) Can that unit attack the tank again in the opposing players turn since the tank hasnt moved and i'm still in combat with it
Yes, you are in base contact and so you are counted as in close combat with the vehicle (P63 under "successive turns")

b)If i DO count as in combat with the immobolised tank can that unit

b1)Be shot at?
Yes, they are not considered locked in combat

b2)Be lashed away?
as above
Everything is made clear on P63 of the rule book
OpTi is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Steaknchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2
Default

Awsome thanks for clearing that up. I dont mind the rules being questioned but when they change from week to week and the responce is 'oh i only read that rule just after we played' i get a little suspicious.

Incoming fire has right of way.
W/L/D (2013)
Wood Elves - 1 / 0 / 0
Steaknchips is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
OpTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

do you not carry rulebooks around you can easily check? i always have my mini rulebook and codex to hand should anything be questioned
OpTi is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Steaknchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2
Default

I have the large rule book, normally carry around that and multiple codex and all my models. But sometimes i just dont have enough room for the big rule book. Thinking i should buy a small one from a bits site.

Incoming fire has right of way.
W/L/D (2013)
Wood Elves - 1 / 0 / 0
Steaknchips is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm curious about how this would work with a unit that is consolidating. Say my unit of genestealers assaults a unit of IG veterans and multi-assaults into a chimera. After the genestealers attack the vet squad is completely wiped out and the chimera is immobilized. When resolving the combat how would the consolidation work? Would the genestealers be forced to move 1" away from the chimera and deny themselves the free hits during the IG assault phase?
Arcangon is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 06:21 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Nothing in the rules covers it, but you are not required to use any of the Massacre consolidation move at all so it would be perfectly legal to remain in contact with the vehicle, but only if you destroyed any and all other Walkers or non-vehicle units. Then you'd get the attacks in the subsequent turn.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks for the prompt reply.

In that same situation could the genestealers who just wiped out the vets move within 2" of the ones assaulting the chimera while they remain in base contact or would it be an all move or none move thing?
Arcangon is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Avatar
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Reputation: 1
Default

Opti has answered everyhting you already need to know. I actually had the same situation minus the 'lashing away part.' As soon as you immobilize the enemy vehicle or stun it you can attack it with any models (that are in base contact and those that are within the base contact models) in every single assault phase as long as that unit stays in base contact with said vehicle.
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome